Design City

THE CITY OF COPENHAGEN: CARBON NEUTRALITY FOR SUSTAINABLE CITY DEVELOPMENT

t设计都市DESIGN OF URBAN

Low-carbon urban life in Copenhagen Photo credit: Visual China Group

Low-carbon urban life in Copenhagen Photo credit: Visual China Group

Following Chinese president Xi Jinping’s announcement at the general debate of the 75th session of the United Nations General Assembly to reach peak carbon dioxide emissions by 2030 and carbon neutrality by 2060, China has been vigorously rolling out policies and measures to achieve the above targets. Cities are not only the primary source of global carbon emissions, but also one of the direct victims of climate change. 

According to statistics, cities emit roughly 75% of the world’s carbon dioxide , and 90% of them are adversely affected by climate change, such as sea level rise and extreme weathers. As China further pushes forward with its urbanization drive, urban carbon neutrality through proper design and planning will become a key field that merits thorough explorations.
 
图片Wind generators in Oresund, Copenhagen Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
As early as in 2009, the City of Copenhagen released a 16-year climate plan, announcing that it would become the world’s first carbon-neutral city. The initiation of actions to address climate change will help reduce carbon dioxide emissions by a large margin. Accordingto the plan, the city sets out to reduce its current carbon emissions from 2.5 million tons to less than 1.2 million tons. The plan is now progressing steadily. In 2011, Copenhagen’s carbon emissions dropped by 21%, compared with 2005. By 2015, the city had achieved the goal of reducing emissions by 20% – far ahead of schedule. As indicated bythe latest data, Copenhagen’s carbon emissions in 2019 stood at around 1.4 million tons, a 42% decrease from 2005.
 
After the release of the zero-emission plan, the government of the City of Copenhagen proposed 50 specific initiatives. One example is the district heating grid. Now, 98% of local homes are connected to the heating grid, which is mainly powered by the advanced and efficient waste incineration facility. Some other examples of initiatives are the promotion of green mobility (walking, cycling and public transportation) and the development of electric and hydrogen-fueled cars. Today, half of the local population travel mainly by bike. This move alone reduces air pollution, noise, accidents and congestion costs up to USD 43 million every year. In addition, power plants in the city are required to use wind, geothermal and biomass energy to generate electricity; also, private capital is encouraged to invest in green energy development.
 
图片Source: Visual China Group
 
Energy Consumption
 
Although energy consumption only accounts for 7% of emission reductions, it is one of the most economically efficient ways to reduce emissions. Based on this, Copenhagen is expected to cut heating costs by about DKK 500 million (approximately USD 80 million) every year through energy savings.
 
Today, 63% of all Danish households are connected to the district heating grid, which supplies them with heating and domestic water. By co-generating heat and power (also known as combined heat and power, CHP, technology), the overall energy efficiency is much higher than that of heating and power generation separately. The energy use efficiency of heat and power co-generation can be as high as 85-90%, which can save about 30% of fuel compared with separate production. District heating and CHP have become and will continue to be a key factor in Denmark’s green transition. The successful experience in the City of Copenhagen shows that district heating is one of the most flexible energy production and supply methods with the lowest carbon emission.
 
The integrated district heating grid in Greater Copenhagen provides one million residents in 22 municipalities with cost-effective, low-carbon heating.
 
First built in the mid-1920s, Copenhagen’s central heating system was extensively expanded in the 1970s. Due to excessive reliance on scarce and expensive fossil fuels, the burning of coal and oil deteriorated the air quality of the city. Despite air pollution, the then district heating grid suffered from a low energy distribution efficiency. Since 1995, it is precisely because of the more efficient district heating system that Copenhagen has cut carbon emissions by a large margin and improved the city’s livability.
 
The reduction in energy consumption of buildings is attributed to the efficient heating systems. The Danish government has been committed to cutting buildings’ energy consumption and increasing the proportion of renewable energy use by various means, such as laws and regulations, finance and taxation, and other administrative measures. The introduction of energy efficiency indicators for new buildings, as well as the collection of heating fuel taxes for buildings nationwide, worked together to sharply lower the net heating energy per square meter of building space. Currently, the heating energy consumption of newly built buildings in Denmark only accounts for about 25% of that before 1977. The latest Danish building regulations outline explicit requirements for energy consumption levels of new buildings constructed between 2015 and 2020 and set out agoal to ensure new buildings will have “almost zero energy consumption” and mainly rely on renewable energy supplies.
 
The best-known green building in Copenhagen is the Green Lighthouse, Denmark’s first zero-emission public building, which was inaugurated in November 2009.
 
图片Green Lighthouse  Source: www.velux.com.cn
 
Located on the campus of the University of Copenhagen, the Green Lighthouse was designed and built by the Copenhagen City Government, the University of Copenhagen, the Danish University and Property Agency, and the VELUX Group. It cost DKK 37 million (approximately USD 5.92 million) and is integrated with many functions such as recreation and convention services. The building is currently used as a teaching building by the Faculty of Science at the University of Copenhagen.
 

 

The Green Lighthouse is a round-shaped building. With its green exterior wall, the structure harmoniously integrates into its surrounding environment. The design of its adjustable blinds allows the entire building to collect the maximum amount of sunlight. Constructed in a positive and active way, the house, while achieving zero carbon emissions and reducing energy consumption, has also opened up new ways to use renewable energy.
 
图片Green Lighthouse  Source: www.velux.com.cn
 
Walking into the Lighthouse, one will immediately feel its optimal lighting effect. It is the scientific and unique design that helps the building greatly reduce its energy consumption. As one of the most typical smart green buildings in the post-industrial era, it boasts a healthy indoor climate and plenty of natural daylight.
 
According to Lone Feifer, Programme Director of VELUX Group, daylight is the primary source of energy for the Green Lighthouse. The automatically-adjustable roof windows ensure sufficient indoor lighting. Without these roof windows, the building would not be able to use solar energy as a heating source and would need a large number of electric lights to achieve the same lighting effect. Installed with light sensors, lighting equipment inthe building will detect the conditions where there is not enough light and automatically adjust the brightness to appropriate levels. This kind of illumination control can help cut electricity bills by more than 30%.
 
图片Green Lighthouse  Source: www.velux.com.cn
 
Energy Supply
 
The power and heat generation is currently the biggest source of carbon emissions in the City of Copenhagen. Through a series of measures such as building new wind power farms and biomass-fueled heating plants, Copenhagen’s goal, to achieve by 2025,is to generate one unit of renewable energy with every unit of fossil fuel consumed. By doing so, the city is expected to reduce carbon emissions by nearly 900,000 tons, which will account for nearly 80% of the total reduction.
 
When the plane is about to arrive at the Copenhagen Airport, you will see a spectacular scene outside the window: at the end of the blue sea lies a green city; what is more magnificent is rows of rotating wind turbines on the sea.
 
图片
Wind generators in Oresund, Copenhagen  Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
Although wind power has taken a large share in its energy system, Copenhagen continues to invest huge sums of money in building more wind power farms. Located outside the Copenhagen Harbor, Middelgrunden is an offshore wind farm with 20 turbines (2 MW each) and a total installed capacity of 40 MW. The farm supplies power to 40,000households in Copenhagen. Now, it has become a new landmark or namecard of the city, attracting hundreds of thousands of people to visit and learn from the successful experience every year.
 
The City of Copenhagen also uses the heat generated by waste incineration to provide heating for the city. The waste comes from eight garbage sorting bins placed in each residential building. Back in 1988, more than 40% of the city’s waste was sent to landfill, while the percentage is now only 1.9%. Around 60% of waste in the city is recycled, and the rest is used to generate heat fed into the district heating grid.
 
图片CopenHill Power Plant, Copenhagen  Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
Green Mobility
 
In Copenhagen, transportation is the single sector that accounts for the largest proportion of carbon emissions, which is up to one-third of its total and is still on the rise. How to further increase the proportion of journeys on foot, by bike or by public transportas well as the proportion of vehicles using new fuels is an initiative crucial to reducing the 140,000 tons of carbon emissions in the traffic sector.
 
Copenhagen is well-known as the “City of Cyclists”. In its urban areas, cyclists can be seen zipping through traffic like fish in the ocean. The ubiquitous flow of bikes has become part of the city’s cultural symbol.
 
图片
People cycling in the city of Copenhagen  Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
To effectively solve the problems of carbon emissions from vehicles and urban traffic congestion, the City of Copenhagen has vigorously promoted bikes as a means of transportation in recent years, thus setting off a bike revolution. Over one-third of Copenhageners now cycle to work orschool every day. The cyclists that you see everywhere in the city cover all age groups, from teenage students to seniors in their sixties. Everyone rides briskly on the exclusive blue bike lanes, forming an eye-catching landscape unique to Copenhagen.
 
Driving in Copenhagen, you have to stop and wait for endless red lights. However, cycling turns out to be a completely different experience: if you ride at a constant speed, you will hit green lights all the way to your destination.
 
In Copenhagen, all traffic lights are coordinated according to the average speed of cyclists. As indicated by the official statistics, for cyclists in Copenhagen, the average cycling speed reaches 15 km/h, while that of car drivers is only 27 km/h. The small area of Copenhagen makes parking a big problem. Drivers sometimes need to search several blocks for a parking space. It usually takes at least ten minutes. So, to get to the destination faster, cycling proves to be a better alternative. This also reveals the different degrees of importance Copenhagen attaches to various modes of transport: bikes are in first place, public transport follows as the second, and private cars are the last one. Moreover, cycling is also a great workout, conducive to the health of all people. As a fairly economical means of transport, it will free cyclists from the troubles of auto loans, taxes, rising oil prices, and parking fees, to name a few.
 
图片Digital Statistical System for Cycling in Copenhagen  Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
The mayor of Copenhagen, Frank Jensen, said cities “can change the way we behave, the way we are living, and go more green.”
 
In the latest CPH 2025 Climate Plan, the government of the City of Copenhagen hopes to increase the proportion of journeys to work or school by bike from over 30% to 50%. To this end, the government has also developed “super highways” for cyclists. These lanes are specially designed to minimize the number of stops along the route and adopt a special traffic signal system that allows cyclists to hit green lights all the way on their journeys. Besides, along the bike lanes, there are gas stations, repair stands, stops and other facilities that make sure that cyclists can reach their destinations safely. The newly built bike super highways enable the city to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by 7,000 tons every year. Since cycling helps to improve people’s health, there is also an annual saving of DKK 300 million (approximately USD 48 million) in health costs. More and more Copenhageners now choose cycling as their preferred mode of mobility.
 

 

图片People riding bicycle on the bridge, Copenhagen  Photo credit: Visual China Group
 
More than half of the world’s population now lives in cities, and this proportion will continue to increase. Sustainable cities constitute an integral part of the global efforts to achieve sustainable development. Copenhagen’s creative solutions to emission reductions in the fields of energy, mobility, architecture and beyond may shed some light for other cities in the world. Cutting carbon emissions is an important task for cities wanting to attain sustainable development. A sustainable city must be a livable city: a good place where people can live, breathe, work and entertain effortlessly and pleasantly.

 

 

Text / Zhang Zhipeng

设计都市

哥本哈根“碳中和”: 城市可持续发展之路

t设计都市DESIGN OF URBAN

哥本哈根的低碳城市生活 图片来源:视觉中国

哥本哈根的低碳城市生活 图片来源:视觉中国

随着习近平总书记在第七十五届联合国大会一般性辩论中提出我国的“30.60 目标“(力争在 2030 年前二氧化碳排放达峰、2060 年前实现“碳中和”),我国正积极 推进“碳达峰”“碳中和”的各项工作。

 
城市,既是全球碳排放的主要来源,也是全球气候变化直接受害方之一。据统计,城市大致排放了全球 75% 的二氧化碳,90% 的城市面临着由海平面上升、极端天气等 气候变化直接带来的负面影响。随着我国城镇化的进一步深化,深入探索城市“碳中和”方面有关设计规划将成为重点任务。
 
哥本哈根厄勒海峡风力发电机 图片来源:视觉中国
 
哥本哈根早在 2009 年就公布了一项为期 16 年的气候变化应对计划,宣布要建设全球第一个“碳中和”城市。应对气候变化行动的启动,有助于减少大量的二氧化碳排放。该计划中的目标是把全市的二氧化碳排放量从 250 万吨减少到 120 万吨以下。目前来看,计划正稳步推进:2011 年,哥本哈根已经提前实现了到 2015 年减排 20%的目标,与 2005 年相比,二氧化碳排放量减少了21%。根据最新数据,哥本哈根 2019 年的碳排放量约为 140 万吨,较 2005 年下降了42%。
 
在公布“零排放”的计划之后,哥本哈根市政府提出了 50 项具体措施。比如,采用集中区域供暖方案,目前已满足 98%城市供热需求,热能主要来自先进高效的垃圾焚烧站;又如,推广步行、骑自行车和乘坐公共交通工具方式,并发展电动车和氢动力车。当前已有一半的哥本哈根居民骑自行车出行,每年可节省的因污染、噪音、事故和拥堵带来的成本达 4300 万美元。另外,要求发电厂采用风力、地热和生物质能发电,鼓励民间资本投资绿色能源开发等。
 
图片图片来源:视觉中国
 
能源消耗
 
尽管能源消耗仅占整体减排量的 7%,但却是最有经济效率的减排方式之一。据此预测,哥本哈根每年通过节能可以减少大约 5 亿丹麦克朗(约 5.2 亿元人民币)的供暖费用。
 
目前 63% 的丹麦住户与区域供热息息相关,他们的供暖与生活用水都来自区域供热。当使用热电联产发热和发电时,其整体能源效率要远高于分别发热与发电的方式。热电联产的效率可高达 85-90%,与单独发热和发电相比,可节省约 30% 的燃料。区域供热和热电联产已经成为并将继续成为丹麦绿色转型的一个关键因素。哥本哈根经验显示,区域供热是最低碳、最灵活的能源生产和供应方式之一。
 
哥本哈根大区区域供热系统为 22 个城市中 100 万居民提供了物美价廉的低碳热供应。

 

哥本哈根的集中供热系统最早建于 20 世 纪 20 年代中期,曾于 70 年代进行大规模扩建。由于过分依赖稀缺和昂贵的化石燃料,煤碳和石油的燃烧造成了城市空气质量的恶化,当时的区域供热网络的能源分配效率也很低。从 1995 至今,正是因为有了比较高效的区域供热系统,带来了碳排放的大幅降低和生活环境的日益宜居。

 

建筑能耗的降低反映了高效供热系统的贡献。丹麦政府一直致力于通过法律法规、行政财税等多种方式,降低建筑能耗,提高可再生能源使用比例。在全国范围内,通过规定新建建筑的能源效率指标,以及征收建筑采暖燃料税,建筑物的每平方米空间采暖净热量需求大大降低,目前丹麦新建建筑的供热能耗只有 1977 年之前的 25% 左右。丹麦最新建筑标准对 2015 ~ 2020 年新建建筑的能耗水平提出了明确要求,目标是新建建筑“能耗几乎为零”,主要依靠可再生能源供应。
 
哥本哈根最著名的绿色建筑莫过于 2009 年 11月落成的丹麦第一座零碳公共建筑——“绿色灯塔”。
 
图片绿色灯塔 图片来源:www.velux.com.cn
 
“绿色灯塔”坐落于哥本哈根大学校园内,由哥本哈根市政府与哥本哈根大学、丹麦大学和威卢克斯集团公司共同设计建造,耗资 3700 万丹麦克朗(约合 3860 万元人民币),建筑集休闲和会议服务等功能于一身,目前用于哥本哈根大学科学院的教学大楼。 

 

“绿色灯塔”建筑主体为圆柱形,以绿色为基调的外墙与周边环境和谐地融为一体。建筑上装有的可调节百叶窗使整个建筑能最大限度地接收阳光。“绿色灯塔”是按照“积极的房子”的原则建造的,在实现零碳排放、降低能耗的同时,也开拓了全新的可再生能源利用方式。
 
图片绿色灯塔 图片来源:www.velux.com.cn
 
在“灯塔”内部,首先会注意到的是它优异的采光效果,其独特的科学设计使建筑能耗大大降低。作为后工业化时代具体代表性的绿色智慧建筑之一,它不仅有健康的室内环境,还有着充足的日光。
 
威卢克斯集团项目经理罗娜·费弗说:“日光是‘绿色灯塔’主要的能量来源,可自动调节的天窗保证了室内充足的采光。如果没有天窗,除了无法利用太阳能为室内供暖外,还需要大量的电灯来达到同等光照效果。建筑设有光传感器装置,在光照不够的情况下,它们会自动根据所需光照的强度逐渐变亮,这也是节能的一种方式。这种对光照的控制可将电费减少 30% 以上。”
 
图片绿色灯塔 图片来源:www.velux.com.cn
 
能源供给
 
当前,电力和热力供给是哥本哈根最大的碳排放源。据此预测,通过新建风力发电厂和生物质供热厂等一系列手段,哥本哈根计划在 2025 年实现每消耗一单位化石燃料,生产出一单位可再生能源,实现减少近 90 万吨的碳排放,占整体减排量的近 80%。
 
当飞机快要到达哥本哈根机场的时候,往机窗外望过去,你将会目睹颇为壮观的一幅景象——蓝色大海的那一头连接着绿色的城市,更为壮丽的是大海上连绵不断转动的风车。

 

图片哥本哈根厄勒海峡风力发电机 图片来源:视觉中国

 
在很大一部分城市用电已来自风能发电的基础上,哥本哈根继续投入巨额资金修建风力发电厂。坐落在哥本哈根海港的米德尔格伦登风电场是一座拥有 20 座 2 兆瓦 风力发电机、总装机量为 40 兆瓦的海上风电场,它们产生的电力可以为哥本哈根的 4 万户家庭提供电力。这个风力发电场现在已成为哥本哈根的新地标和城市新名片,每年都吸引数以十万计的考察者和参观者前来学习、取经。
 
此外,哥本哈根利用焚烧垃圾所产生的热能为城市提供暖气。这些垃圾则是来自每栋居民楼的八大垃圾分类桶。1988 年,哥本哈根超过 40% 的城市垃圾会被送往垃圾填埋场,而现在只有 1.9% 的垃圾送往填埋场,大约 60% 的垃圾被回收,剩余的垃圾都物尽其用,为城市区域供暖网络所使用。
 
图片哥本哈根CopenHill发电厂 图片来源:视觉中国
 
绿色出行
 
交通运输是这座城市碳排放量占比最大的单一领域,高达三分之一,而且还在不断增长。如何进一步提升步行、自行车及公共交通出行比例并扩大新能源汽车比例是减少交通部门 14 万吨碳排放的关键举措。
 
哥本哈根以“自行车城”著称,在哥本哈根市区,随处可见骑车族宛如游鱼般穿梭于大街小巷之中,无处不在的自行车流成为这座城市的文化符号。

 

图片哥本哈根骑自行车的人 图片来源:视觉中国

 

为了有效解决汽车的二氧化碳排放和城市的拥堵问题,哥本哈根市近年来大力推广以自行车作为代步工具,掀起了一场自行车交通革命。现在哥本哈根有超过三分之一的市民每天骑自行车上班或上学。在哥本哈根随处可见的骑车一族覆盖了各个年龄层人群,从十来岁的小学生到花甲老人,人人都骑车在蓝色的专属车道上轻快地飞驰而过,形成一道独特的城市风景线。
 
如果驾车行驶在哥本哈根的大街上,总是会被一个又一个的红灯所阻挡。如果骑上一辆自行车匀速蹬踏,倒是可以几乎一路绿灯畅通无阻。
 
在哥本哈根市内,所有交通灯变化的频率均按照自行车的平均速度设置。据官方统计,在哥本哈根市区,自行车的平均速度为每小时 15 公里,而汽车平均速度仅为每小时 27 公里。哥本哈根市区面积狭小,使停车也成为一个难题,有时为找到一个停车位往往需要绕过几个街区,花费数十分钟,所以有时候骑自行车反而可以更快地到达目的地。这反映出哥本哈根市对各种交通工具的重视程度:自行车居首、公共交通第二、私人轿车最末。同时,骑自行车还是很好的健身方式,提高全民健康。从经济的角度来看,骑自行车便宜省钱,可让骑车族免去贷款、汽车税、油价上涨及停车费等烦恼。
 
图片哥本哈根自行车骑行数字化统计系统 图片来源:视觉中国
 
市长弗兰克·詹森(Frank Jensen)说,城市管理者“可以通过改变居民的出行方式和生活方式,让城市生活变得更加环保。”
 
在最新的哥本哈根“2025 零碳排放”计划中,市政府希望将骑自行车上班或上学的人群比例从 30% 多提高到 50%。为此,哥本哈根市政府还为骑车一族打造自行车“高速公路”。该车道经过特别设计,尽可能减少中途的停靠,使用特别的交通信号系统,可以让骑车族享受“一路绿灯”。车道中途还设有自行车充气站、修理站和停靠站,可以使骑车族更安全地抵达目的地。新建成的自行车“高速公路”可以使哥本哈根市每年减少 7000 吨二氧化碳的排放,同时由于骑车提升了居民健康,每年还可为政府节省 3 亿丹麦克朗 (约 3.1 亿元人民币)的医疗支出。现在越来越多的哥本哈根市民把自行车作为出行的首选交通工具。
 
图片哥本哈根桥上骑自行车的人 图片来源:视觉中国
 
世界上超过一半的人口居住生活在城市里,同时这个比例还将不断提升。城市的可持续发展是实现“可持续发展”中的重要部分。哥本哈根在能源、交通、建筑等领域的创造性减排思路为世界上其他城市提供了借鉴经验。减少碳排放是城市可持续发展工作的一部分,一个可持续发展的城市,也一定是一个宜居城市,在那里人们可以轻松地生活和呼吸,工作和娱乐。

 

 

文 / 张致鹏