Column

HOW TO EXIST SUSTAINABLY

t专栏文章COLUMN

Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

 The question is not if.

 
We can solve all problems to be able to live, but it will be then living in a way that cherishes our reality. The goal is to make our reality beloved so as to be able to wander in it, and trying to better understand it so that more knowledge grows and in so doing unravels the complexities. Are we going to fight the fragile human, the climate crisis, the politics of public space by understanding the problems and then solving them, or by enjoying and loving the climate, and its appearance so that we can live with it, challenge it, and provoke it to be even better?
 
What is a better climate? One that lived thousands of years before or the one of tomorrow? How do we deal with it, how do we behave with it, how do we understand it, and how do we give it a voice that makes us understand and be able to communicate with it? Could wesay that by understanding things better, we are able to change things, direct things? But if we want to direct, are we really sure where we want to go to?

 

 

 

What do we expect from our reality? To answer this we need to know where we are, who we are, what we see and what culture we want to live in.

 

 

 

Being sustainable means being able to live in balance with your environment – it is a way of living in which the human civilization is able to live in harmony with its resources, where technological developments enhance both current and future potential. In a properly sustainable situation, human needs and aspirations are met, and nature is able to keep up so that we can coexist and all survive.
 
Water plays an important role in this because it is the main component of the earth’s hydrosphere, the fluid of all known living organisms, vital for all known forms of life, but also a material our economy is fully dependent on. 70%of all freshwater is used for agriculture and the rest we use for making, cooling and heating in industry and homes. This inorganic, transparent, tasteless, odourless, and nearly colorless chemical substance is the source of all we are.
 
While I am sitting here in my room, looking out the window it’s raining. It’s dark and the day has to find its beginning. I started by going for a walk to a bakery for a small breakfast, a coffee with milk, orange juice, and a croissant.
 
Sitting here I am drinking my coffee while I am about to write an essay about sustainability. I start to wonder where would I be if I would live within the perspective of water. Imagine if I would have total awareness of water and would always see its amount via a system of subtitles that reveal the quantity used visually.
 
I use 109 liters a day, 39,785 liters a year, apparently exactly the same amount of rain that my apartment would catch in a year. It’s around 55m2 the size it needs to collect the rain that falls in a year that I use, which is 72 cm the same height as the table I am now writing from.
 
图片

 

 Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

 
This would only cover the water we use from my tap for drinking, cooking, washing, and cleaning. There is a huge amount of water we are surrounded by that is totally invisible. All things need water to exist. So we need to get aware of how we want to live with water to beable to choose how and with what we want to build our daily life landscape. How do we want our awareness to grow? By the morals of living a good lifeor by taking care of a good life.
 
I take a sip of my coffee with milk ina paper cup. The cup takes 5 liters of water to produce and apparently we use 500 paper cups per year.
 
The coffee itself needs 130 liters to be produced and I am not counting transportation, the packing, the world of the shop nor all the accounting that comes with it. Imagine if I could feel the full existence of a single cup of coffee.
 

 

图片
Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoen
 
If the full reality and existence of the life of water was clear and visible, my coffee would stand for 135 liters of water and even more if its political and social influence was included. I wouldn’t be able to carry it anymore. It would become too heavy, it would keep me awake at night, and not only because ofthe caffeine it contains.
 
My orange juice is responsible for 230 liters of water, my croissant 65 litres. If I would stand up, walk around and look in the mirror, I would see myself worried wearing my cotton underwear, my cotton T-shirt, linen trousers, woollen cardigan, and socks standing inmy leather shoes. If I would add up all the water my outfit has used, it would be 1500 liters, the weight of a car, half a 20-foot container full. When I would project that on the room I am in right now, my study room, the water would rise to my waist. If I slowly add all the other things in my room, the furniture, my computer, the study books I would probably drown.
 

 

 

 

图片
Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoen
 
Our life as it currently is has created a world of freight containers. I guess the container is basically a box thatgot fully industrialized, without ever realizing how much it would influence our life of things. The largest containership existing can transport 24.000 containers, a block of steel withthe size of 400x60x36 meters floating over the sea to constantly bring us our needs. And make our lives we now live possible.
 
A 20-foot container can carry 36.000 t-shirts. Multiply that with 24.000 containers it would mean 864.000.000 T-shirts. Every cotton t-shirt takes 2600 liters of water to produce so 864.000.000 T-shirts multiplied by 2.600 is 2.300.000.000.000 liters of water.
 
2,3 Trillion by name. So the biggest containership arriving in Rotterdam filled with t-shirts. Just by its cargo, the ship would have a tail of water, being 60 meters wide, sailing into the harbor with a depth of 23 meters, with a length of 174 kilometers of water needed to produce the-shirts.
 
图片
 
图片

Illustration: Pichaya Puapoomcharoe

In Europe, we have 741.000.000 citizens, so we need 741.000.000 sets of undershirt and underpants. Judging by the weights, a cotton undershirt weighs 160g and underpants weigh 60g, which equals around 1,15 of a 190g cotton T-shirt. As a result, the volume of 741.000.000 sets of undershirt and underpants will be close to the volume of 864.000.000 t-shirts, so we need one biggest containership of transportation just to invisibly dress us up for the day.

 

So imagine Europe divided into 3 timezones all waking up and starting todress in the morning. Just to put on underwear, a wave of three hours will move 2.33 trillion liters, the water needed to produce the cotton for it. A huge wave moving from east to west just to start our day, having done nothing yet. A wave of people getting dressed. So to produce the fabric for just underwear for all European citizens would need 2.33 trillion liters of water. That equals 8 cm of water covering the whole of the Netherlands and it’s the same volume as the Chinese Great Wall being 6,5 meters wide, 7 meters high, and 6400 km long.

Just to understand the number 2.33 trillion if we make them in seconds it takes 72.555 years to pass by. 72.555 years ago we were living in the Middle Paleolithic.
 
 
The middle Stone Age, which is the era in which we found the earliest evidence of behavioral modernity, that what distinguishes the current "Homo sapiens" from other anatomically modern humans, hominins, and primates. Characterized by abstract thinking, planning, symbolic behavior, music, dance, and technology including patterns of social norms, language, and cooperations. Humans also began to take part in long-distance trade for rare commodities and raw materials.

 

 

 

There were also several out-of-Africa dispersals of the modern humans via the so-called "Southern Route" spreading rapidly along the coast of Asia and reaching Australia.
 
It was around 70.000 BC the super volcano called Toba, on Sumatra, in Indonesia erupted blowing roughly 650 miles of vaporized rock into the air. So much dust hanging in the atmosphere blocked the sunlight from fully reaching the earth for six years. It reduced the temperature, creating a global "volcanic winter" with its 6-centimeter layer of ash covering bigparts of the land. This all caused a sharp reduction in the size of the population due to environmental events that followed the volcano eruption.
 
So we almost vanished, but now we’re back.
 
Are we going to become more sustainable through fear and morality, or are we going to change our behavior through understanding and developing a genuine culture of care? A new era inmodernity towards social intelligence and inclusivity in which growth is a mental and physical state of our being.

 

 

 

 

Text / Jurgen Bey
Director of Sandberg Instituut 
Founder of Studio Makkink & Bey 

 

图片
 
It was the birth of a project “Cleanliness is close to godliness” in which refined precious tools for cleaning was developed. Silk with embroideries ofstreet cleaners of all sorts, aprons with window cleaners, gloves with dust sweepers all to celebrate the art of cleaning. Porcelain buckets and mops challenging the cleaners how to move, how to behave and being gracious and caring not to break their tools. A higher level of their profession to be delicate and able to act as dancers and therefore challenging the intelligence of cleaning.

 

 

 

The project is also meant to cherish the water used for cleaning. It remindsus to stay aware of its beauty and preciousness and to get to know waterbetter, especially how commercial production almost abuses it. We need the skills to be more aware of the truth behind the façade. Sustainability is coexistence, not an act of solving problems, but a process that believes and sees every day care as an act of modern living.

专栏

如何生而永续

t专栏文章COLUMN

插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

“可持续生存”并不是一个虚构的问题。

 

长久以来,人类为了生存下去解决了各式各样的问题。而现在,我们应以珍惜我们所处的这个世界为出发点,让这个世界更为人所爱,使人们可以漫步其中;让这个世界更为人所理解,从而以更深厚的知识去解开其中的复杂本质。为保护脆弱的人类、应对气候危机以及处理公共空间政治问题,我们应该去理解和解决现存的问题,还是去享受并热爱地球的气候及其各种表现形态,从而与其共存、向其挑战,并助其向好发展?

 

但,何为“更好的气候”是数千年前的模样,抑或是尚未到来的未来景象?我们该如何应对之、顺应之、理解之,让其发“声”并与其“交流”?若更透彻地理解周遭世界,我们是否就能由此改变并引导其中万物?如果引导,我们又能否确保其前进的方向符合我们的本愿?

 

我们对现实究竟抱有怎样的期待?要寻到答案,我们必须清楚自己当前的处境和角色,清楚我们所见所知,清楚我们所期望实现的存世之道。

 

可持续生存意味着人与环境之平衡,即人类文明与环境资源的和谐共存,并通过科技发展撬动现今及未来的发展潜力。在理想的“可持续”情境下,人类对自然的需求和期望均得以满足,大自然也能及时自我补给、持续供给,从而使二者共存共生。

 

水资源至关重要。水是地球水圈的主要组成部分,系生命有机体的生之源泉,对各种生命形态而言均不可或缺;水更是人类经济赖以发展的基石。农业活动的淡水消耗占到地球淡水总量的70%,其余则被用于工业生产和日常生活之中,用于制造、制冷、供暖等流程。水,这种无色无味的无机化学物质是我们所有人的本源所系。

 

此刻,我静坐于屋内,窗外正下着雨。屋外一片漆黑,但黎明将至。每天早晨,我都会出门走到面包店享用简单的早餐:一杯牛奶咖啡、一杯橙汁和一个可颂面包,以此开启我的一天。

 

我坐在面包店里喝着咖啡,准备着手写这篇关于可持续的小文。我不禁突发奇想: 如果我生活在水的视角之中,这世间将是怎样一番景象?如果我能够充分获悉关于水的一切,并通过可视化系统,看到日常事物用水量的标签说明,又会是怎样的体验?

 

假设我每日用水 109 升,一年用水量则为 39785 升。如果我那 55 平方米的公寓能装雨水,那落在我公寓一年的降水量将刚好与我一年的用水量吻合,水位大概是 72 厘米,和我此刻伏案的桌子一般高。(图一)

 

图片插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoen 

 

此处我所举例的用水量仅能满足人们日常饮用、烹饪、洗漱和清扫所需。我们周边仍流动着大量无形的水,世间万物皆因水而存在。因此,我们必须意识到与水共存之道的重要性,从而选择构建日常生活景观的方式和内涵。那么,我们要如何提高用水意识呢?答案是:通过建立追求优质生活的道德观念,或是营造美好生活的意愿。

 

我拿起纸杯,喝了一口牛奶咖啡。生产这 个纸杯要用掉 5 升水,而我们每个人每年会用掉 500 个纸杯。

 

咖啡豆仅栽培过程就需耗水130升,这还不包括运输、包装、咖啡店运营和其他一切与咖啡相关的生产活动所耗费的水量。想象一下,一杯咖啡从生产到消费,整个周期的耗水量将会有多大。(图二)

 

图片插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

 

如果生活中的一切用水量皆清晰可见,那我手中的这杯咖啡大约要耗费 135 升水。但如果将咖啡所带来的政治和社会因素算入其中,耗水量则会更大。加到一起,我就不可能再举得起这杯咖啡了。不仅是咖啡中的咖啡因,其背后巨大的耗水量将让我彻夜难眠。

 

我早餐里的橙汁需要消耗 230 升水,可颂面包需要耗水 65 升。如果我站起来走到镜子前,镜子里的我一定十分焦虑,因为我身上穿着纯棉内衣和 T 恤、亚麻长裤、羊毛开衫,脚上穿着袜子,蹬着皮鞋,而制作出我身上所有衣物所耗费的水量将高达 15000 升,相当于 10 辆汽车的重量,足足装满半个 20 尺的集装箱。倘若将这 15000 升水引流进我的书房,目测水位能达到我腰部;若是再慢慢算上屋里其他物件制作过程中的水耗,比如家具、电脑和教材,我大致就会被淹没了。(图三)

 

图片插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoen

 

我们如今的生活是一个靠集装箱运转的世界。但我想,集装箱本身只是一个个平平无奇且被彻底工业化了的箱子,我们并无法充分地认识到其对物质生活所产生的影响。如今最大的集装箱船可运载 24000 个集装箱。换算一下,约等于一块 400x60x36 米的巨型钢块漂浮在大海上,为我们运输日常所需,让我们如今的生活成为可能。

 

一个 20 尺的标准集装箱可装下 3.6 万件 T 恤。依此推算,24000 个集装箱可装下 8.64 亿件 T 恤。生产一件 T 恤的耗水量为 2600 升,这么多 T 恤的耗水量则可达 2.3 万亿升水。当这艘满载 T 恤的巨型集装箱船驶入水深 23 米的鹿特丹港码头,仅计算生产它所运载货物的耗水量,便像是这艘船后还拖着一条 60 米宽、174 千米长的水做的尾巴。(图四)

 

图片

 

如今,欧洲总人口为 7.41 亿,至少需要 7.41 亿套内衣裤来满足每天穿衣的需求。按重量计算,纯棉内衣重 160 克,内裤重 60 克,一件 T 恤的重量为 190 克。如此,一套内衣裤的重量是一件 T 恤的 1.15 倍。依此推算,如果 8.64 亿件 T 恤能装满一艘集装箱船,那么每人一套内衣裤差不多也能塞满一整艘集装箱船。所以,仅仅为运输这些不会被看见的内衣裤就需要一艘全世界最大的集装箱船来实现。

图片

图片

插图:Pichaya Puapoomcharoe

 

因此,我们可以想象一下:每天早晨,欧洲三个时区的人们陆续起床穿衣, 仅是穿上内衣裤这个动作,在 3 小时内便移动了 2.33 万亿升水——这只是生产棉布所需要消耗的水量,从东到西推进的巨浪仅够支撑我们每天起床穿衣,而我们此时还未着手做任何其他事情。要是将 2.33 万亿具象化,相当于荷兰全境国土覆上 8 公分高的水位,或是灌满长 6400 米、宽 6.5 米、高 7 米的中国长城。

 

如果将这 2.33 万亿转换为时间单位 “秒”,约等于 72555 年里秒数的总和。而 72555 年前,人类尚处于旧石器时代中期。

 

旧石器中期是可考据的人类行为现代化的最早时期。从解剖学角度,行为现代化是区分智人与其他现代人种、类人猿和灵长类动物的标志。智人能够抽象思考,深谋远虑,能歌善舞,具有象征性行为,懂得利用社会规范、语言和合作方式等技术手段行事,更是发明了稀有物品和原材料的远距离贸易。

 

现代人类的祖先走出非洲后有多条迁徙路线,其中一条称为“南线”,沿亚洲海岸线一路延伸至澳洲。约公元前 70000 年,位于印度尼西亚苏 门答腊岛的超级火山多巴火山喷发,熔融的岩石被喷射到 650 英里的高空,形成的火山灰飘散于空中。随后六年间,漫天的火山灰阻隔阳光直射地球,致使全球气温降低,进入“火山冬天”时期,多处大陆覆盖6厘米厚火山灰。火山喷发后,接踵而来的环境事件使当时地球人口锐减。

 

那时人类几近灭亡,但我们破冰重生。

 

我们是因为恐惧和道德伦理才选择可持续生存吗?还是希望在理解自然的基础上,发展出由衷的环境关怀文化,从而改变我们的行为?现代社会的新发展方向是社会智能和社会包容,人类的存在亦将是身心合一的全方位成长。

 

 

文 / 尤根·贝

荷兰桑德伯格艺术学院院长

Makkink & Bey 室内设计事务所创始人

图片

 

作者曾发起了“清洁即信仰”项目,致力于开发精致改良的清洁用具,以此宣扬清洁的艺术。我们在丝质抹布上绣了街头清洁工的形象、在围裙上绣了擦窗女工的形象、在手套五指上绣了扫地女工的形象。用特殊的陶瓷材质制作的水桶和拖把也将给使用者带来不小的考验。如何使用工具? 如何移动工具?如何珍惜爱护工具以避免损坏它们?这对使用者的专业技巧要求更高,需要他们心思细腻,行动如舞者般轻盈灵动。这都是对清洁智慧的挑战和考验。

此项目亦意在倡导人们在清扫时节约用水,时刻谨记清扫工作的美好和珍贵,更深入地了解水资源,尤其是知晓商业生产中滥用水资源的情况。我们要培养、挖掘表象下本质真相的能力。可持续意味着共存,它不是解决问题的行动本身,而是一个过程——一个相信并将日常环境关怀作为现代生活方式的过程。