THE SPIRITUAL FORCE OF “SHENZHEN DESIGN”

t对谈DIALOGUE

Shenzhen Museum of Contemporary Art and Urban Planning. Photo credit: Visual China

Shenzhen Museum of Contemporary Art and Urban Planning. Photo credit: Visual China

Text/Fan Lin

 

The summer in Shenzhen sees the stunning beauty of thriving lives. For the inaugural issue of City of Design Shenzhen, we have invited Ren Kelei, Chair of Shenzhen Art & Design Alliance, Han Wangxi, Inspector at Level 2 of the Publicity Department of CPC Shenzhen Municipal Committee and Director of Shenzhen Innovation and Creative Design Development Office, and Han Jiaying, a renowned designer, as our guests to a lively discussion on the topic of “Shenzhen Design”. Riding the wave of the 40-year miracle of the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone (SEZ), the three of them have grown together with the city. With their intellect and endeavor, they have actively engaged in and deeply influenced the development of Shenzhen’s design industry. Following the well-known “Shenzhen Speed” and “Shenzhen Quality”, “Shenzhen Design” has become another brand of the city, implying a symbiotic relationship between design and Shenzhen. The city’s innovative, open and inclusive environment has nurtured the impressive development and upgrade of the design industry which, in turn, empowers the city’s growth. As the city moves forward with its leading strategy of “indigenous innovation”, creative design will remain as the fundamental element of Shenzhen that is innovation-driven. Let’s join the three creative minds in their inspiring discussion, and witness their passion and wisdom.

Li Xiaogan, then Member of the Standing Committee and Director General of the Publicity Department of the CPC Shenzhen Municipal Committee, at the opening ceremony of the first Shenzhen Design Week (April 17, 2017). Photo credit: Organizing Committee of the Shenzhen Design Week

 

Q1

What has design brought to Shenzhen? Has Shenzhen provided new directions and new possibilities for “design”?

In the first questions, we aimed to lead the discussion from the perspective of time, focusing on what design has to offer Shenzhen, and whether Shenzhen has provided new directions and new possibilities for design. All three of our guests, in their response, anchored their viewpoints on the characteristics, momentum and splendor of our times. Reviewing the footprints of Shenzhen’s development, we can see clearly that the path of the design industry in Shenzhen is highly aligned with the trajectory of the city’s development. The essential changes of the design industry that have occurred over the past four decades travel far beyond its modern stance, its fusion with other cultures, and its global influences.

Ren Kelei said, “Design is closely related to industries. It has changed Shenzheners’ mindsets and demonstrated a people-centered value orientation.”

Han Wangxi commented, “The history of a city’s development is the history of conceptual changes that have evolved into the fundamental awareness that underpins the modernized life in the city focusing on the care and respect for people. Gaining profound self-awareness and the perception of creativity is crucial. The level of openness, inclusiveness and development determines the level of design practice in Shenzhen, and culture should be at the core of design. The construction of a city is the construction of its people, its imagination, and its culture. My dream is that Shenzhen will become a global city of culture.”

Han Jiaying said, “The first city that offered a better environment for designers to survive after China’s reform and opening-up was Shenzhen. We’ve rooted our ambitions and aspirations in the development of the design industry to march ahead side by side with Shenzhen’s cultural development.”

Clouds over the Shoreline. Photo credit: Visual China 

 

Q2

How did “Shenzhen Design” come into being? What are the key milestones?

During the conversation, our guests shared their examples of the milestones of “Shenzhen Design” that first took shape around 2008. One of the highlights mentioned by all of them was the moment when Shenzhen, being the first in China and the sixth in the world, was officially designated as the “City of Design” by UNESCO. Since then, design has evolved into a key platform facilitating industrial transformation and upgrade in Shenzhen. With its new identity, Shenzhen, the City of Design, began to engage itself in the global dialogues. From the world’s factory in the early days to the base for upgraded manufacturing, and most recently to the city of innovation, “Shenzhen Design” has been the fuel behind all these scenes. By leveraging design as an innovative force of its productivity and vitality, Shenzhen has emerged as an exemplary model of new urban development. And “Shenzhen Design”, after years of practice and development, has become the new driving force of the city’s economic prosperity.

“There are many turning points in history. But the designation of ‘City of Design’ in 2008 is a pivotal one that has brought appreciable influence on the city. In response to the call for indigenous innovation in the industry, professionals started to organize themselves into different industrial associations, and the intellect and wisdom of design agencies and individuals were pooled together and formed a high level of autonomy in the design community.” said Han Jiaying.

Ren Kelei commented, “I would say that the history of industrial evolution is the ‘year’ that has left its marks. In the 1990s, Shenzhen experienced its transitions from a city centering on client-supplied material processing to a city relying on its own industries and then, to a city of hi-tech buzz. Rounds of industrial transitions have led to surging demands on design services. Thus, we say that design is closely related to industries. It was because of the booming development of local industries and locally-started companies that the dawn finally came. From my point of view, the ‘milestone’ or ‘key time node’ is not a specific year, but the decade between 1990 and 2000.”

Han Wangxi told us, “From then on, global initiatives and international cooperation started to blossom after Shenzhen aligned itself with the world’s trend of design. That has reinforced the role of ‘Shenzhen Design’ as the pivot, and highlighted its mission to plan and promote the development of cultural and creative industries with a global vision from a long-term perspective.”

Logo of City of Design Shenzhen 

 

Q3

What have the government and the design community done to restructure the industry? What kinds of advantages have been created?

The three gentlemen recalled their vivid memory of the measures taken by the government and the design community in restructuring the design industry after Shenzhen joined the club of “Cities of Design”. Since then, many moves have been made to restructure the design industry internally and expand international cooperation externally, leading to a higher level of industrial coupling and the synergy of industrial production and knowledge innovation. “Shenzhen Design” has grown together with industries such as manufacturing, clothing, jewelry and furniture with strong complementary strength. Its robust industrial basis has also attracted a large volume of domestic and overseas talents and investment. Nowadays, the fundamentally-transformed design industry of Shenzhen sits well on the value chain of the internationally competitive hi-tech industrial clusters. That also explains the four outstanding advantages of Shenzhen Design listed by Ren Kelei at the press conference of the 2020 Shenzhen Design Week on August 14, 2020.

Firstly, the advantages brought by the “driving forces of the two areas”, namely, the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area and the Pilot Demonstration Area of Socialism with Chinese Characteristics, will facilitate the development of the creative design industry in Shenzhen.

Secondly, the creative design industry in Shenzhen has realized a development pattern that enables overtaking efforts, and is in a leading position in the country. The number of winning design awards and tenders of Shenzhen-based design offices has been creating new records for nine consecutive years, and ranks first among all medium-and-large cities in China.

Thirdly, Shenzhen attaches importance to the attraction of design professionals and emphasizes the incentives and training for such talents. Up to now, a fully-fledged talent development system has been established. New design institutes are under construction now, including Shenzhen Institute of Design and Innovation (SIDI) and the International School of Design, Harbin Institute of Technology, Shenzhen.

Fourthly, Shenzhen boasts a strong network of design organizations that serve as bridges connecting the government with enterprises. They have also hosted many influential signature design events and activities.

 

Guests: Han Wangxi, Ren Kelei, Han Jiaying (from left to right)

 

Q4

In what ways does Shenzhen engage itself in international dialogues as a “City of Design”?

With the above-mentioned advantages, the design industry of Shenzhen has played a leading role in different areas and participated in international dialogues with the city’s new identity as the “City of Design”. With increasing reputation, influence and recognition from all quarters across the country and the globe, “Shenzhen Design” has stood out as a new brand of the city. Francesco Bandarin, Assistant Director-General for Culture of UNESCO, said that “Shenzhen Design” had gained extensive international influence, and UNESCO would spare no efforts to work closely with Shenzhen to bring “Shenzhen Design” to the world. David Grossman, President of the International Council of Design, also commented that despite Shenzhen’s relatively young age, its design was no less outstanding than that of other cities, and that creative design had played a key role in Shenzhen’s world-famous development speed. Dezeen, a London-based design magazine, once wrote in its article that Shenzhen’s emphasis on design well voiced the city’s ambition to transform from a manufacturing power to a design and creative hub. As a city emphasizing opening-up, Shenzhen values international cooperation and exchange in the field of design. Through the network of “Cities of Design”, Shenzhen has made new friends from all over the world. Design offices and designers are encouraged to “go global” and seek active roles in international events. Big names around the world have also been invited and attracted to Shenzhen for new opportunities. While strengthening exchanges and integration with the international cultural and creative community, Shenzhen has been developing signature design events with greater international influence, in order to enhance its status in the field of international design.

London Talks to Shenzhen, Theme Exhibition of 2019 Shenzhen Design Week. Photo credit: Organizing Committee of the Shenzhen Design Week

Panel review for the New Star Award, SDA 2019. Photo credit: Organizing Committee of the Shenzhen Design Week

Witnessing such a trend, Han Jiaying, a graphic designer experienced in bridging Chinese and western culture, said, “We embrace the world with open arms to make true dialogues of design happen. In an atmosphere that encourages active participation and problem solving, designers will be more self-driven to achieve higher goals. Shenzhen has the soil to grow designers with talent and ambitions.” Han’s AGI membership (Alliance Graphique Internationale) is clear evidence of the vitality of Shenzhen Design. Despite all these achievements, Han still believes that Shenzhen should set even higher goals for the future.

 

Q5

Has Shenzhen already realized cross-over integration? What is the mission of the Shenzhen Art & Design Alliance?

Ren Kelei, Chair of Shenzhen Art & Design Alliance, believes that “Design needs to adopt the universal language, to lead the public, and to focus on interactions and discussions involving both the public and the designers.” That is his suggestion on how to further consolidate and make full use of Shenzhen’s advantages. During our conversation, he cited an interesting example to define the interaction he mentioned: at the 5th Shenzhen International Contemporary Sculpture Exhibition staged on the premise of OCT, the visitors wrote “demolish” on the works that they thought were “ugly”. Years of interactive integration of art and design have witnessed the progress that local citizens have made through discussions, debates and experiments. “Why did this city win the first designation of ‘City of Design’ in the country? What Deng Xiaoping once said is still true today. Shenzhen is a place of pioneering spirit and entrepreneurship. That is the reality of the design industry in Shenzhen. That is the reality of today’s contemporary art in Shenzhen, blooming and flourishing.” When we applauded what he had said, Ren continued, “I have grown as well, over the past 10, 20, and 30 years! From the first day of reform and opening-up, Shenzhen has shown its charisma that draws in those who want to push their own limits and step out of their comfort zones. This is the place where your dreams come true. This is the city that allows you to accomplish your success once you come here. This is a city that empowers its young people to design their life. From the first day of reform and opening-up, Shenzhen has shown its charisma that draws in those who want to push their own limits and step out of their comfort zones. This is the place where your dreams come true. This is the city that allows you to accomplish your success once you come here. This is a city that empowers its young people to design their life.”

In 2014, the Shenzhen Design Union led the establishment of the Shenzhen Art & Design Alliance (the Alliance), the first of its kind in China. Ren serves as its Chair. The Alliance comprises a whole spectrum of design associations, fine art institutes, design-related R&D organizations, colleges and universities, financial institutions, media and companies. In just a few years since its formation, the Alliance, with its positive role and contribution, has drawn extensive attention in Shenzhen and from the design community. Its mission is to support medium-and-small design companies and companies involved in mass innovation and entrepreneurship through resource integration, complementary cooperation, innovation platform and cross-over services to fuel the initiative of mass innovation and entrepreneurship. 

 

Q6

What is the significance of the design industry’s contribution to the experimental efforts of Shenzhen?

The design industry has undertaken many experimental, pioneering attempts of Shenzhen. The relations of policies, people and society have fully embodied the essence of the city’s spiritual pursuit and initiatives during the course of modernization, and when non-governmental cross-over organizations like Shenzhen Art & Design Alliance and the Council for Development and Promotion of Cultural & Science and Technology, Nanshan District are sprouting, we are better able to imagine. In the guideline unveiled by the central government in 2019 on supporting Shenzhen in building a pilot demonstration area of socialism with Chinese characteristics, it is mentioned that Shenzhen is expected to become “a globally influential creative capital for innovation and entrepreneurship” by 2035, and aims to lead the world and become a benchmark city by 2050. Only in Shenzhen can these ambitious goals be realized. Our guests mentioned repetitively that the lifestyle, the positioning of the city, the connection with the world and the direction of future development need to be documented and narrated with a magazine that boasts imagination, professionalism and philosophical insights. As Han Wangxi has predicted, “City of Design Shenzhen will present to the world the momentum and splendor of Shenzhen. It will be a vivid chronicle of what people think and what the city aims for. It will be the monument of Shenzhen’s glory and dreams.” We are going to produce a magazine for the future with our creativity. Together with the rest of the world, we will witness the development of Shenzhen’s creativity and design, the growth of its people, and the prosperity of the city.

DenCity · A Reachable Utopia in Shenzhen ©URBANUS

“深圳设计”的精神力量

t对谈DIALOGUE

深圳市当代艺术与城市规划馆。图片来源:视觉中国

深圳市当代艺术与城市规划馆。图片来源:视觉中国

文/樊林

 

盛夏的深圳,万物生长,明艳动人。籍《设计之都深圳》创刊之际,我们特意邀请深圳市设计与艺术联盟主席任克雷、中共深圳市委宣传部二级巡视员、深圳创新创意设计发展办公室主任韩望喜、著名设计师韩家英三位嘉宾,围绕“深圳设计”展开了一场热烈的讨论。在深圳经济特区成立的40年辉煌历程中,这三位嘉宾都以各自的智慧和奋斗,与城市共同成长,投身参与并深刻影响了深圳设计业的发展。今天,“深圳设计”是继“深圳速度”“深圳质量”后又一新的城市品牌,设计与深圳存在着一种共生关系。深圳的创新性、开放性、包容性,助推了深圳设计的快速发展和产业升级,为城市赋能。“自主创新”已经成为这座城市发展的主导战略,创意设计始终是深圳创新驱动的根本要素。对话中,他们充沛的热情和才智,令人欣喜而鼓舞。

2017年4月17日,时任中共深圳市委常委、宣传部部长李小甘出席首届深圳设计周开幕式。 供图:深圳设计周组委会

 

Q1

设计为深圳提供了什么?深圳是否也为“设计”提供了新方向新内容?

我们首先希望从时间的维度讨论,设计为深圳提供了什么,深圳是否也为“设计”提供了一些新的方向和内容。他们的言谈都指向时代的特征,时代的风华,时代的光彩。回顾并审视深圳发展的脚步,可以看到,深圳设计的发展和这座城市的发展轨迹高度吻合。深圳设计40年,发生的根本性变化,不仅仅体现在深圳设计的高新、融合和国际化层面。

任克雷说:“设计与产业密切相关,设计改变了深圳人的观念,体现出以人为本的价值取向。”

韩望喜说:“城市发展史是观念变革史,观念从根本上支撑城市的现代化生活,关怀人,尊重人。要深刻地认识自身、认识创造力,城市的开放、包容、发展的程度决定了深圳设计的高度,文化是设计的内核。城市的建构是人的建构,也是想象力的建构,文化的建构。我的梦想是有一天深圳成为世界文化之都。”

韩家英说:“改革开放之后最早能够让设计师活得比较好的城市,就是深圳。我们将理想与抱负根植于行业的深入发展,与深圳的文化建设共同前行。”

滨海彩云飞。图片来源:视觉中国

 

Q2

“深圳设计”是如何形成的?有哪些重要的时间节点?

对于2008年前后,“深圳设计”的形成经历了怎样的一些重要阶段,三位嘉宾都谈到自己认为的重要的时刻。他们共同铭记的光辉时刻是2008年,获得联合国教科文组织“设计之都”称号的深圳是中国首个入选“设计之都”的城市,也是全球第六个“设计之都”。自此,设计进一步成为深圳产业转型升级的重要平台,深圳以“设计城市”的身份融入了国际对话。从当初的世界工厂,到制造业升级,再到创新之都,“深圳设计”发挥了重要作用。深圳代表了一个新的城市发展模式,深圳将设计作为一种创新力量,使之成为重要生产力,焕发勃勃生机。经过多年的积累与发展,“深圳设计”已然成为城市经济发展新的增长动力。

韩家英说:“历史的转折点很多,比较关键的是2008年‘设计之都’称号的获得,对整个城市的影响非常显著。大家倡导自主创新的行业精神,组成各个行业协会,将众多设计企业、设计师凝聚在一起,发挥了重要的自治作用。”

任克雷说:“产业的变化才是一个非常重要的‘年份’,从1990年代到2000年,深圳经历了以来料加工为主的城市转向依靠自己的工业,而后向高科技发展,形成的产业转型使社会对设计的需求加大,设计与产业密切相联,因为有了产业,原创公司特别强大,设计业迎来了一个春天。关键点是10年,而不是某一年。”

韩望喜说:“从那时候开始,深圳更加融入了世界的设计趋势,开始了很多国际合作,跨国合作无缝衔接,强化了‘深圳设计’以设计为支点,以国际视野、长远眼光谋划和推动文化创意产业发展的使命感。”

设计之都深圳标志

 

Q3

政府、设计界对行业结构进行了什么调整?形成了哪些明显优势?

关于深圳作为中国第一个“设计之都”,政府以及设计界对行业结构进行了一些怎样的调整,三位嘉宾的回忆具体化了。获得“设计之都”称号之后,深圳设计向内深化了很多产业调整,向外扩展了很多国际合作,渐渐呈现出的特点是产业结合度比较高,工业生产与知识创新举头并进。“深圳设计”与工业、服装、珠宝、家具等产业同步发展、相辅相成,具有很强的产业基础,吸引众多国内外人才和资金进入。深圳已经形成以设计为重要环节,具有较强世界竞争力的高新技术产业群,行业结构产生了质的变化。这也就是在8月14日的“深圳设计周”新闻发布会上,任克雷主席发言将深圳的设计发展概括出四个明显优势的主要原因。

第一,粤港澳大湾区以及社会主义先行示范区“双区驱动”的优势,将进一步促进深圳设计以及创意产业的快速发展;

第二,深圳创意设计已形成超越式发展格局,处于全国领先地位。深圳企业获得国际设计大奖连续九年创新高,稳居国内大中城市首位;

第三,深圳注重设计人才的激励、培养及引进。深圳已形成了立体化的人才培养体系,深圳创新创意设计学院、哈尔滨工业大学(深圳)国际设计学院正在筹建中;

第四,深圳拥有强大的设计组织团体,成为沟通政府与企业的桥梁,并打造了众多有影响力的设计品牌活动。

对谈嘉宾:韩望喜、任克雷、韩家英(从左至右)

 

Q4

深圳是如何以“设计城市”身份融入国际对话的?

凭借这些优势,深圳设计在全国诸多领域发挥引领作用,同时是以“设计城市”身份融入了国际对话。“深圳设计”在海内外不断提升知名度、影响力,得到各方肯定,逐渐成为新的城市品牌。联合国教科文组织文化助理总干事班德林先生表示,“深圳设计已经有了广泛的国际影响,联合国教科文组织将不遗余力地与深圳紧密合作,将深圳设计这个品牌推向世界”。国际设计理事会主席大卫·格罗斯曼认为“深圳虽然年轻,但其设计丝毫不逊于其他城市。深圳的经济发展速度闻名世界,而创意设计在深圳经济发展中起了很大的作用”。英国设计界专业媒体Dezeen报道指出,“深圳对设计的重视,体现了深圳这座城市由制造强市向设计重镇转变的雄心”。深圳是一座开放之城,在设计领域尤其注重国际合作交流。通过“设计之都”平台,深圳广交朋友,鼓励设计企业和设计师走出去,积极参与国际活动,吸引国外顶尖设计机构、设计师到深圳发展,加强深圳与国际文化创意产业的交流与融合,打造有影响力的国际品牌设计活动,提升深圳的国际设计界地位。

2019深圳设计周主题展活动“伦敦对话深圳”现场。供图:深圳设计周组委会

2019深圳创意设计新锐奖评审现场。供图:深圳设计周组委会

在这样的大潮中,韩家英老师以平面设计的多年实践,融合中西文化,他说:“大家拥抱世界,让设计交流真正地展开。在一个积极参与、面对挑战的氛围中,自然会对自己提出更高的要求,深圳的土壤适宜养育有才华有理想的设计师。”韩老师成为AGI国际会员恰恰应证了深圳设计的强大生长力。即便如此,他依然坚持深圳应该更具有理想。

 

Q5

跨界融合,在深圳是否已经形成?设计联盟所承担的使命是什么?

任克雷对于深化、利用这样的优势更进一步提出“要有世界语言,引领公众,注重互动。与公众、设计师都形成互动、讨论的局面”。任总很有趣地阐释了好的互动,那是第五届深圳国际当代雕塑展时观众对于“丑”的作品用大笔写上“拆”字。这些年艺术与设计的融合,市民在争论中成长,通过实验性获得了提高。“为什么这个城市会获得第一个‘设计之都’称号?就是小平说的‘这个地方敢试敢闯’。敢试敢闯就是我们设计的今天,也是当代艺术在深圳开花的今天!深圳从改革开放那一天起就能够吸引基因不安分的人,这里能够让你的梦实现。这是一个来了能让你成功的城市,是一个能够让年轻人设计人生的城市。”

2014年,深圳市设计联合会发起成立了全国第一家由各类设计协会、各种美术机构,所有与设计关联的科研和院校以及金融、媒体、企业共同参加的“深圳设计与艺术联盟”,任克雷担任联盟主席。成立短短数年,在深圳与业界引起广泛关注。以资源整合、优势互补、创新平台和跨界服务,面向中小设计企业和“双创”企业,助力大众创业、万众创新,起到了积极的作用。

 

Q6

设计行业为深圳完成了许多实验性的尝试,意义何在?

设计行业为深圳完成了许多实验性、先锋性的尝试,现代化进程中关于城市精神的理解和倡导在这里充分地通过政策、人和社会的关系实现,出现了深圳市设计与艺术联盟、南山区文化科技促进会这样的民间跨界组织,我们更加能够展开畅想,在2019年中央发布的支持深圳成为社会主义先行示范区的文件中,特别提出的2035年深圳要成为“世界创新创意之都”;2050年要成为标杆性的国际城市。这样的理想目标,恰恰根植于这样的一片热土。三位嘉宾在对谈中多次指出,我们的生活方式、我们的城市定位、我们与世界的联系和我们未来的发展方向,需要有想象力、专业性富于哲学意味的杂志来记录、书写。一如韩望喜博士所预言,“《设计之都深圳》将呈现深圳的风华与光彩,热忱地反映这个时代人们的所思所想,凸显这个城市的雄心和壮志,铭刻深圳的光荣与梦想。”我们将与世界共同见证深圳创意与设计的成长,人的成长,城市的成长,我们要用创造力做一本给未来的杂志。

DenCity · 一个可见的深圳乌托邦 ©URBANUS