People & the City

GLORY AND DREAM OF BUILDERS

t专题FEATURE

Site Master Plan (OCT-LOFT) ©URBANUS

Site Master Plan (OCT-LOFT) ©URBANUS

When we try to place ourselves into the thriving image of Shenzhen’s urban construction, in order to observe, experience and evaluate the contributions that Shenzheners have made to the city in terms of urban planning, design, construction and other aspects over the past 40 years, an agreed-upon understanding is that buildings, as an integral part of the overall living environment, never exist in isolation. We believe that urban planners and architects must convey, deepen and enrich people’s ideal understanding and perception of urban architectural space. Such a standpoint has created a platform of social significance for us to assess and appreciate the architects who have been forming the city’s skyline and the cultural researchers who have been working on connecting the past, the present and the future over the past 40 years since China’s reform and opening up. Architects are also shouldered with other missions, including the self-realization of humankind and the maximization of technological advancement.

Let’s draw a coordinate system, with time and creation as its X and Y axes respectively, where convention and innovation are at the opposite two ends of the former, and nature and construction are at two opposite ends of the latter. It is only in this dynamic and flexible space that those features unique to Shenzhen can serve as a reference for others, as a pilot demonstration area of socialism with Chinese characteristics. Bing a model of China’s urbanization, place for social practice, and venue for innovative ideas, thoughts and systems since China’s reform and opening-up, Shenzhen is the ideal testing ground.

Within such an evaluation framework, we zoom in on a few groups of outstanding Shenzheners who are highly representative. From historical and geographical investigations to metaphysical discussions, these people, approaching from different angles, using different working methods, and acting in different social roles, focus on different aspects of urban construction to exchange views, brainstorm together and discuss in depth with each other. They are a group of people who have committed their youth, talent and wisdom to this unprecedented, rapid urbanization.

The cultural characteristics manifested through urban planning and architecture are diverse and complex. We hope to, through an interesting juxtaposition, find the connections linking the efforts of generations of Shenzheners, outline the conditions in which reflections and practices are conducted, and highlight the social context of architectural creations. All the efforts and attempts made during the difficult times will be respected, acknowledged and further tested.

 

01 

Theme Parks

Understanding the historical context of building Splendid China, Folk Culture Village and Window of the World is of great help in appreciating how Shenzhen realizes its cultural appeal through design and construction. The original intention of building the OCT (Overseas Chinese Town) theme parks, now a model in China’s tourism industry, is not one that can be quickly grasped by travelers 20 years later – especially those who travel around the world.

Dragon-boat regatta, Splendid China. Photo by Ouyang Yong

Ever since the birth of the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone (SEZ), the development of its tourism industry has been taken into consideration. According to the Shenzhen Atlas of Natural Resources and Economic Development published in 1985, Shenzhen was “adjacent to Hong Kong, a city with a highly developed tourism industry. Since its designation as an SEZ and the adoption of opening-up policies, Shenzhen has become more convenient for tourists to travel to than any other place in China, doubling the value of its not-so-unique mountains and waters. And its ever-changing cityscape also adds more charm to the tourism industry of the SEZ…" This thorough research report listed the “urban scenery tourism resource” as one of the top nine tourism resources of the SEZ in its initial stage.

Splendid China, opened in 1989, was the first theme park in China. It has significantly driven Shenzhen’s tourism and related industries ahead. Later, OCT went on to build the Folk Culture Village (1991) and the Window of the World (1994) within the 5-kilometer radius of Splendid China. From then on, theme parks have become a subfield and model in China’s tourism industry. 

 

02 

Urban Renewal

It is such a blessing for shenzhen to have architects who are able to view the city through the continuous spectrum where dots are connected from the past to the future.

In 1999, architect Meng Yan came back from New York to Shenzhen, and founded URBANUS with his partners Liu Xiaodu and Wang Hui. They embarked on an adventurous journey, in which he grew together with Shenzhen, the once fledgling and rough-around-the-edges city. When asked “why settle in Shenzhen” or “why stay in Shenzhen for 20 years”, questions that almost every visitor to URBANUS raises, Meng always attributes his choice to the fact that Shenzhen fits his original concept of an ideal city, though “serendipity” is also part of the story. Shenzhen has given them the opportunity to shape the city’s trajectory through architecture and design. 

When talking about the urban renewal of Shenzhen, Meng noticed, with great subtlety, that OCT achieved transformation through renovating the eastern industrial zone. It became involved in contemporary art and subsequently changed the future directions of many branches of the company through art enlightenment. That is exactly what growth and making progress mean.

Facade of OCAT. Photo by Chen Jiu

In 2003, OCT began its renovation of the eastern industrial zone. Starting by reconstructing a factory warehouse into a Contemporary Art Terminal (OCAT), OCT gradually transformed this area covering a total of 150,000 square meters, creating opportunities for this industrial zone to evolve and grow through design. Time has painted this place with creative cohesion and cultural richness. With the joint efforts of creative experts, OCT, the then Bureau of Urban Planning and other authorities, systems have been formed, standards have been set, and consensuses have been reached, making the area a creative cultural landmark in Shenzhen.

URBANUS adopted the practice of replacing and filling, starting with the currently available structures and moving on with renovation and creation. A new interconnected public space and facilities then took shape gradually. URBANUS also moved its office into the creative park, which, according to Meng, is a way of reshaping itself. 

OCT-LOFT Site Plan ©URBANUS

In August, the Nantou Ancient Town, another urban renovation project, was unveiled. The 1,700-year-old historic town was reborn with a brand new look. Nantou Ancient Town, also known as Xin’an Old City, had served the coastal areas of Guangdong as the administrative center, coastal defense post, marine transportation hub and foreign trade distribution center in its history. It is one of the birthplaces of the history and culture of Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macau. In October 2019, the Nantou Ancient Town Preservation and Regeneration Project officially kicked off. It followed the principle of ‘micro-renovation’ to maintain and revive the ancient culture at the local level. The project implementer has renovated the houses and buildings inside the old town to preserve their centuries-long local traits and embed the modern aesthetic elements into its texture. The renewed Nantou Ancient Town comprises four functional areas featuring historical heritage, art and cultural experience, urban life and cultural creativity, respectively. It is a successful exploration and validation of the ‘old town approach’ to urban village regeneration as well as another innovative example of such efforts.

Five Sections of Nantou Ancient Town  Source: WeChat Official Account of Nantou Ancient Town  

Cities shall be developed with its memory undiminished, and people shall thrive with their bond with their homeplace undisrupted. In this ‘museum of history’ offering a panoramic, immersive experience, people can discover delicious food, visit exhibitions and experience the place with fun and joy. The ancient town, thus, has re-emerged as a charming cultural and innovation landmark of the greater bay area.

Nantou Ancient Town  Source: WeChat Official Account of Nantou Ancient Town

Memorial Archway of Nantou Ancient Town  Source: WeChat Official Account of Nantou Ancient Town

Night View of Nantou Ancient Town (Before and After). Source: WeChat Official Account of Nantou Ancient Town

 

03 

Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture (UABB)

Contemporary buildings and space born from collisions of ideas have merged into cultural communities. The “adventures” taken by architects are the highlights of an era, and their unique features have inspired increasing thoughts about the future.

To some extent, these thoughts, together with the rise of art galleries and the emerging art events, have catalyzed the birth of the Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture (UABB). In 2005, UABB initiated its discussion on contemporary urban development under the theme, “City, Open Door!”, in a 12,000-square-meter crude former factory sitting in OCAT in the south area of OCT-LOFT. It was a tribute to old architecture and the memory of the city.

UABB is the first exhibition that is based exclusively on the set themes of urbanism and urbanization. Co-organized by the two neighboring and closely interacting cities of Shenzhen and Hong Kong, UABB situates itself within the regional context of the rapidly urbanizing Pearl River Delta, concerns itself with globally common urban issues, and extensively communicates and interacts with the wider public using expressions of contemporary visual culture. UABB has been held eight times up to now, and is clearly engaged in international and avant-garde dimensions, as well as discourses, of public interest.

2005 UABB: City, Open Door!  Source: https://finance.qq.com

2005 UABB: City, Open Door!  Source: https://finance.qq.com 

 

04 

Ecological Sustainability

Thirty years ago, Nan Zhaoxu, who was then teaching at a university in Shanxi Province, decided to come down to Shenzhen. Over the past three decades, based on his idea of “local care and action”, he has done two things: 

“First, I have read all the files on shenzhen, from 1949 till now, to understand my city chronologically. Moreover, I have literally measured every inch of shenzhen, every mountain, every body of water, and every corner of shenzhen by foot. I have walked around the mountains, in the city, along the coastlines and in the valleys over and over again, doing field research and documentation.”

Sunrise over the Mangrove Forest. Photo by Mo Xiaoliang

Black-faced Spoonbills at Shenzhen Bay. Photo by Gong Mi

Such a way of dealing with reality has influenced and touched many Shenzheners who are willing to read Nan’s books and follow his instructions to observe and feel the natural beauty of Shenzhen. Books by Nan, such as Notes of Landscape in Shenzhen, Behind the Old Files of Shenzhen, History Illustrated Record and A General History of Shenzhen, have offered a nature-related, historical perspective that people turn to for reference when building and shaping the budding city of Shenzhen.

Notes of Landscape in Shenzhen (book cover), written by Nan Zhaoxu 

Over the past four decades, Shenzhen has embraced many people who have dived deep into their creativity to construct spaces and form the culture that lies at the heart of this pioneering city. They have led the thinking about urban intervention from the city’s viewpoint with their concrete actions and have been creating and shaping the place through transformation. From traveling all over Shenzhen by foot doing field research and documentation, to calling on people to “rediscover Shenzhen”; from exploring alone to proposing the “Tourism + Real Estate” business model, it is them, the Shenzheners, who have created a diverse, rich and vibrant ecology of art and culture for Shenzhen.

Text/Fan Lin, Xu Chunhong

人 & 城市

建造者的光荣与梦想

t专题FEATURE

华侨城创意文化园改造场地总图 ©URBANUS

华侨城创意文化园改造场地总图 ©URBANUS

当我们希望融入深圳城市建设的繁盛图景,尝试观察、体验以及评价40年来深圳人在城市规划、设计和建设的各个层面为城市所做出的贡献,有一个对话的前提,是大家共同认可的:作为整体人居环境的组成部分的建筑,从来都不是孤立的存在。我们相信,规划、建筑从业者必须传递、深化并且丰富人们对城市建筑空间的理想认识。以这样的出发点,为我们看待改革开放40年来在这片土地上建构空间的建筑师以及勾连过去现在未来的文化研究者,搭建了具有社会意义的平台。建筑师们还时时面临人类的自我实现、技术进步的最大化追求等一系列使命。

我们可以假设一个坐标系,时间、创造分别为纵横两轴,其中传统、创新各为一端;自然、建造也互为两极。在这样一个动态、弹性的讨论空间里,所获得的深圳特色才会成为社会主义先行示范区所提供的可借鉴经验。作为改革开放以来中国城市化的样本、社会实践、思维观念和制度创新的发生地,深圳是理想的实验场。

在这样的一个评价框架里,我们聚焦的几组优秀的深圳人都非常具有代表性。他们在从实地探查历史地理到形而上讨论的不同层面里,关注城市建设的不同思考维度,以不同方式工作,彼此从各自的社会角色展开思想碰撞、深入讨论。他们都是在前所未有的城市化快速进程中贡献青春、才华和智慧的一群人。

城市规划、建筑所表征的文化特性是多元而复杂的,我们希望通过一次有趣的并置为深圳人多年一直坚持的努力找到上下文关系,勾勒思考和实践所面临的情境,凸显建筑创作的社会性背景,所有那些在困顿之中的前行和尝试,都将会获得尊重、肯定以及深化检验。

 

01 

主题公园

贴切地还原建造“锦绣中华”“民俗村”以及“世界之窗”的历史情境,对于理解深圳这座城市通过设计、建造,实现自己的文化诉求会有显著的帮助。作为中国旅游业发展的一个典范,华侨城主题公园的初衷,是20多年后的旅游者——尤其是那些走遍世界的旅游爱好者——并不能够迅速获知和体会的。

深圳锦绣中华景区,龙舟争渡竞上游。摄影:欧阳勇

特区在成立之初已经考虑到这个新城旅游业的开发及利用。据1985年出版的《深圳自然资源与经济开发图集》显示,“这里地邻旅游业十分发达的香港,自辟为特区实行开放政策以来,游客往来比国内其他任何地方都方便,使这些本来不算十分奇特的山山水水,开发价值倍增。日新月异的城市风貌,又使特区的旅游业大为添色……” 在这本分量十足的研究成果中,“城市风光旅游资源”被列为特区开创初期的九大旅游资源之一。

1989年开放的“锦绣中华”迈出了中国主题公园从无到有的第一步,极大地带动了深圳旅游业及相关产业发展。随后在周边5平方公里范围内,华侨城相继开发“中国民俗文化村”(1991年)和“世界之窗”(1994年)。主题公园产业成为中国旅游业发展的一种类型、一个典范。

 

02 

旧区改造

“拥有能够以贯穿新旧的维度看待城市的建筑师,是深圳的幸运。”

1999年,建筑师孟岩从美国纽约来到深圳,与同伴刘晓都、王辉一起创办了都市实践建筑事务所,自此开始了与单薄又粗粝的年轻城市共同成长的经历。几乎所有到访都市实践的人都会提问“为什么落地深圳”“为什么坚守深圳20年”。来深圳的原因除了机缘,更“巧合”的是落地、扎根下来后,发现深圳很契合自己原来设定的城市的概念、城市的理想,他们尝试用建筑或者设计的方式去影响这个城市的发展。

后来孟岩在谈到深圳城市旧改建设时,更为深刻地看到华侨城恰恰是从做东部工业区改造实现了转型,介入当代艺术,以艺术启蒙方式改变企业很多板块的走向。这就是生长,这就是进行时的意义。

华侨城当代艺术中心 (OCAT) 外立面。摄影:陈旧

2003年,华侨城开始推进工业区的转型,以将一个厂房改造为OCT当代艺术中心(OCAT)为启动点,开始了对这片共约15万平方米的原工业区的持续改造,用设计创造了工业区的演变和生长机会。时间沉淀出创意凝聚力和文化底蕴,在入驻的创意文化人士、业主华侨城地产、规划局等政府部门多方合力下,形成制度、标准、共识,使得这个区域逐渐成为深圳的创意文化地标。

都市实践采用了置换与填充的规划思路,梳理厂区内可利用的结构,一步步添加改造,创造了一层新的相贯通的公共空间和设施。都市实践事务所搬进创意园,按照孟岩的观点,也是在重塑自己。

华侨城创意文化园改造平面图 ©URBANUS

今年8月,又一个旧改项目揭开面纱,有近1700年历史的南头古城焕彩绽放。古城又称“新安故城”,曾多次成为岭南沿海地区的行政管理中心、海防要塞、海上交通和对外贸易的集散地,为粤港澳历史文化源头之一。2019年10月南头古城保护与利用项目正式拉开序幕。南头古城遵循“微改造”方针,定位于活化古城传承文化。施工方对古城内的建筑重新修正,既保留了岭南古风特色,又融入了当代审美装饰元素。改造完成后的南头古城拥有四大功能区:历史怀旧区、艺术文化体验区、品质生活区、文化创意区,被列为“深圳十大特色文化街区”之首。南头古城旧改逐步探索出一条城中村整治的“古城模式”,成为旧改的又一新鲜范例。

让城市留住记忆,让人们记住乡愁。在这座全景历史博物馆里,人们寻味、看展、观景,趣味连连。古城尽显湾区文创新地标魅力。

南头古城五大区块划分示意图。图片来源:南头古城公众号

南头古城实景图  图片来源:南头古城公众号

古城牌坊  图片来源:南头古城公众号

改造后古城夜景  图片来源:南头古城公众号

 

03 

深港双城双年展

在现实中碰撞出的当代建筑、场地成为文化共同体,同时因为建筑师的“冒险”,凸显一个时代的特质,并且引导出关于未来的思考。

这些思考以及大量美术馆空间的建造,艺术事件的不断发展,一定程度上催生了深港城市\建筑双城双年展。2005年,它以“城市,开门!”为题展开了对当代城市发展的讨论。展览发生在华侨城创意园南区的OCT当代艺术中心(OCAT),在1.2万平方米不加修饰的旧厂房空间展出,体现了对旧建筑、城市记忆的充分尊重。

这是首个以城市和城市化为固定主题的展览,由深圳与香港这两个边界互连、互动密切的城市协作举办,立足其所在的珠三角地区急剧城市化的地域特点,关注地球普遍存在的城市问题,用当代视觉文化的呈现方式,与社会公众广泛交流互动,至今已经举办了八届的双年展,显然已经具备国际性、先锋性、公益性。

2005年深港双城双年展主题:城市开门。图片来源:https://finance.qq.com

2005年深港双城双年展主题:城市开门。图片来源:https://finance.qq.com

 

04 

生态持续

30年前在山西一所大学教书的南兆选择了南来深圳。这些年他根据自己的“在地关怀”主张做了两件事情:

“一个是我把深圳的档案全读了一遍,从1949年到现代通读了一遍,从时间上来了解自己的城市。另外,我把深圳的山山水水、角角落落,绕着它的山岭、都市、海岸线、溪谷一遍一遍地走,做田野调查和记录。”

红树林日出。摄影:莫小亮

深圳湾黑脸琵鹭。摄影:贡米

这样的一种关于现实的处理方式,影响、感染了很多深圳人,他们愿意读南老师的书,按照他的指引去观察、感受深圳的草木山川。南兆旭出版的《深圳自然笔记》《解密深圳档案》《岁月山河》《深圳通史》,成为大家在快速建设深圳、改变城市面貌的时候主动参考、借鉴的一种自然、历史态度。

《深圳自然笔记》封面,南兆旭著

40年来,深圳因为许许多多对建造空间、建构文化有所思考的人站在这个先锋城市的前沿,身体力行,从城市的角度来思考城市介入的问题,为创造而改造;从走遍深圳山河海岸做田野调查及记录,振臂呼吁“重新发现深圳”;从独自探索到开创了“旅游+地产”模式……他们共同为深圳营造出多种多样活力丰厚的文化艺术生态。  

文/樊林、许春红