Design & Living

VALUES OF DESIGN: FROM THINGS TO CITY

t专题FEATURE

The Exhibition ©️ Design Society

The Exhibition ©️ Design Society

 

Initiated and curated by Design Society, Values of Design: China in the Making is a permanent exhibition at the Sea World Culture and Arts Center. The exhibition has shifted the lens to focus on design developments in China, to explore the changing design landscape in the country over the past one hundred years, and proposed jointly with the city of Shenzhen on seeking the "sustainability of value in designs".
 
Values of Design: China in the Making
 
Values of Design: China in the Making showcases 138 works organized into six sections: Patterns of Design, Problem Solving, Shaping Materials, Identity and Consumption, Enhancing Communication, and Negotiating Cost. Within these sections, the exhibition tackles diverse themes, including industrial design, digitalization, production, consumption, urban planning, and sustainability. These diverse designs are also realizations of innovative concepts, fashion and cultural thinking in various sectors.
 
The concept of sustainability is best reflected in the Problem Solving and Shaping Materials sections. Designs made of recycled materials on showinclude Recycled China by Jeffery Stephen Miller and Thomas Schmidt, and 24 Bag by HowBottle. Technical and material innovation and sustainable representation of digitalization can be found in an artwork – Printed DAI Pottery (3D printing) by Tao Yijin – as well as in Virtual Landscape by Yang Jieming loaned from Yang House (new material). Finally, sustainability- themed visual works that you should not miss are The Sustainability Issue (documentary) by Tang An in collaboration with The Unreasonable, and HOPE (poster design) by He Jianping.
Using exhibits and cases from an array of design domains, the exhibition gives play to the humanistic care and social value in "designing".
 
In the domain of industrial design, Values of Design showcases designs mainly in the areas of home, products and vehicles. Mobike Furniture is a set of five accessories – chairs, coffee tables, candlesticks, vertical lights, and a desktop rack – designed and made from discarded parts recycled from the bicycles provided by Mobike, a bicycle-sharing service provider. The work showcases the full life cycle of how Mobike was made from raw materials and again from scrap to useful furniture. Mobike Furniture is an ideal representation of reusing the recycled products. As a new approach of resource management, full life cycle management is the necessary way to go in order to realize a circular economy and is a key factor in sustainable development.
 
图片
Mobike Furniture, YUUE Design Studio (Germany), 2019 ©️Design Society
 
In terms of environmental design, architecture designs are a dominating theme. Rebirth Brick , by Jiakun Architects, displays the reconstructed bricks from the rubble of an earthquake, mixed with wheat stalks and cement and formed into briquettes to be used to build and reconstruct the damaged areas. The Rebirth Brick Project began in 2008 after the earthquake in Wenchuan. It is a rebirth of the material, as well as an emotional encouragement for the rebirth of the community and is intended to represent the spiritual rebirth of those who have suffered. Environmental and sustainability issues caused by increasing natural disasters are inevitable tasks for architects to tackle. Reusing materials,as in this case, is one solution in the environmental domain. But regarding architecture, construction costs, and the environment-human relationship, we need to come up with more solutions.
 
图片
Rebirth Brick, Jiakun Architects (China), 2008 ©️Design Society
 
In fashion design, the “I DO CARE” Coat by HowBottle is made from 13 recycled PET bottles. On the back of the coat are the words “I DON’T CARE”, which turn into “I DO CARE” when the coat is wet. The transformation leads itself to further interpretation regarding personal choices – to care or not to care. The coat package is a reusable sling bag. Overall, the serial design follows closely the concept of "Leave No Trace" as a call-out to every one of us to mitigate damage to the environment as much as possible. The Care Coat is a good example of “designing for design to generate a design”, where the purpose of promoting environmental protection is well served through recycling PET bottles and producing a design product that “advocates sustainable development” through the design itself.
 
图片
“I DO CARE" Coat, HowBottles (China), 2019 ©️Design Society
 
The visual communication works shown are predominantly advertisements and videos. My personal favorite is No Place to Place, a photography work by Wu Guoyong. Capturing China’s massive shared-bike graveyards, this work finds an angle on over-production and irrational social planning issues, revealing the changing relationships between history and social orders, and between history and environmental structure. Fads will end, and orders are being restructured, but it should be realized that history cannot be turned back, and the ecology will not be fully restored once damaged.
 
It’s worth noting that social design, a new mechanism design emerging in the modern social environment, has been expanded to different domains. Social designs typically mean the "sustainable solution plans" made by social enterprises on certain social issues, including the rich-and-poor gap, ecological damage, world energy, disaster relief and poverty alleviation. They are not driven by technology nor profit, but rather out of a goal of seeking future development for the society.
 
图片Printed Pottery (3D printing) by Huo Yijin ©️Design Society
 
Design Education: Drive of the City of Design
 
From a historical perspective, Shenzhen itself has been realized from a design, a city design, amid the miracles of China’s reform and opening up.
 
"Shenzhen Design" has driven the development of the city. It’s a young city but already a leader in design. Starting out as the world’s factory, to the upgrading of its manufacturing, and finally to a city of innovation, "Shenzhen Design" have played a pivotal role. "Independent Innovation" has been positioned as a key strategy for the city’s development, where design and creation lie at the heart of an innovation-driven economy in Shenzhen. Thanks to the power of design, "Shenzhen Design" has flourished into a towering tree. Now, the design industry in Shenzhen has an overall output exceeding 30 billion yuan, which further drives lower-stream industrial output by more than 100 billion yuan, qualifying the city as a City of Design in every possible way.
 
"City of Design" needs design education. Shenzhen is one of four key engines of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area. As the local design industry has fueled the miraculous development of the city, design education is a key driver for "strong sustainable development" of "Shenzhen Design".
 
In the age of the Greater Bay Area, the design industry will support the city in enhancing its core function as a growth engine and will also play a role in realizing a new regional coordinated, innovative community. These initiatives can begin with design education. In accordance with the planning of the higher education demonstration zone in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, Shenzhen’s target is to build a certain number of world-leading universities and contribute significant educational outcomes to world technologies and human civilization by 2035. To realize this, design education will play a big part–after all, as “the principles of all things are sustained in the mind”, education is a crucial long-term task for nurturing the "mind". Only when the "mind" is mature will the "things" be turned into an ever-lasting gem of human civilization.

 

Text/ Lin Qingchi, Sun Qijie

设计 & 生活

设计的价值:从物件到城市

t专题FEATURE

展览现场 ©️设计互联

展览现场 ©️设计互联

 由设计互联出品、于海上世界文化艺术中心常设展出的主题展览——“设计的价值在中国”,试图探讨中国近百年来的设计实践与探索,并与深圳这座城市一起发出了共同主张:设计的价值可持续。

 
设计的价值在中国
 
“设计的价值在中国”展以“设计风格、应对问题、材料成型、身份和消费、传情达意、讨价还价”六个板块为主线并设置主题放映厅,涵盖了产品、影像、信息、实验等类型的 138 件展品,呈现了工业、数字化、生产、消费、城市规划、可持续等议题,也是多个领域中创新理念、时尚审美、文化思考等的设计实践传达。
 
关于此次展览里“可持续发展”的理念则主要在“应对问题”与“材料成型”两个板块中体现得最为突出,有废弃物回收为原材料的设计,即来自杰弗里·史蒂芬·米勒、托马斯·施密特的废料重筑作品《再生陶瓷》,好瓶的《24 包》等,也有新工艺、新材料的创新以及数字化的可持续体现,如霍奕瑾借展的 3D 打印作品《陶印》,杨明洁、羊舍借展的模块化新材料作品《虚山水》等,来自唐安与上海联合全球创意制作公司的纪录片《可持续的浪费》、何见平的环保海报《希望》等不可忽视的可持续主题视觉作品。
 
此次展览作品与案例从不同的设计领域展现了“设计”中的人文关怀与社会价值。
  

 首先是工业设计领域,主要涉及了家居设计、产品设计、交通工具设计等方面。《摩拜家具 Mobike Furniture》五件家居用品——躺椅、立式灯、茶几、桌面整理架、烛台,由严谨筛选回收摩拜单车的报废零件进行再设计,呈现了摩拜单车从材料到单车成品、再从单车报废材料到新家具设计的全生命周期。这组作品是产品材料回收再利用的最佳呈现,“全生命周期”是一种新型资源管理思维,是社会循环经济发展的必经之路,也是可持续发展的关键因素。

 

 图片《摩拜家具》,德国柏林的YUUE产品设计工作室,2019 ©️设计互联

 

 其次,在环境设计领域,则主要探讨了建筑设计作品。来自家琨建筑工作室的作品《再生砖 Rebirth Brick》,由当地砖厂用废墟的碎石堆砌,并用稻草和水泥加固,创造出在重建时使用的轻质砖块。“再生砖计划” 始于 2008 年汶川地震,不仅对废弃材料进行再利用,还旨在支持灾后人们精神和情感的愈合。愈演愈烈的自然灾害所引起环境和可持续发展问题成为建筑师们不可回避的课题,我们看到这组废弃材料的循环加工只是环境领域其中的一种方式,关于建筑、建造成本、环境与人之间的关系思考,还需要大家通过展览举一反三。

 
《再生砖》,家琨建筑工作室,2008 ©️设计互联

 

外,时尚设计领域的时装板块,作品《在乎衣》由 13 个回收塑料瓶制成的一件风衣,衣服后背的“I DON’T CARE”字样遇水会变成“I DO CARE”, 传达我们在乎生态环境与地球的健康。此外,衣服的外包装是一个可循环使用的斜挎小包,系列作品都践行着“不留痕迹 Leave no Trace” 的理念,呼吁人们尽可能避免对自然环境的破坏。《在乎衣》极好地诠释了“设计是设计一个设计以产生一个设计”的理念,为了能告诫人们保护自然,既设计了回收塑料瓶废弃材料,也设计了代表理念本身的字样,于是一个“倡导可持续发展” 的设计作品产生了。
 
图片
《在乎衣》,好瓶,2019 ©️设计互联

 

视觉传达领域则以广告和影像作品为主。个人非常喜欢的一件作品是来自吴国勇老师借展的主题系列摄影——《无处安放》共享单车坟场。作品将视角放在过度生产和不合理的社会规划,展示了历史与社会秩序、环境结构的变化关系。热点事件会过去,秩序也不断在重构,但是历史并不会倒流,生态系统一旦破坏就无法还原。
 
值得一提的是,社会设计作为一种现代社会环境下萌生的新机制设计,已经开始覆盖各类领域,通常是公益企业或社会企业专注于社会问题而做的“可持续解决方案” 设计,如针对贫富差距、生态破坏、世界能源、赈灾扶贫等,不以技术或利润为导向,而是以益于社会未来发展为目标。
 
图片
陶印,3D打印,霍奕瑾 ©️设计互联
 
设计教育:设计之都的源动力
 
以历史眼光来看,深圳本身就是改革开放奇迹当中一个以都市为主体的设计实践。
“深圳设计”推动城市发展。深圳虽然年轻,但其设计在全国领先。从当初的世界工厂,到制造业升级,再到创新之都,“深圳设计”发挥了重要作用。“自主创新” 已经成为这座城市发展的主导战略,“创意设计”则是深圳创新驱动的根本要素。正因为设计的力量,“深圳设计”已成为一棵花繁叶茂的大树。“深圳设计”产值已超 300 亿元,带动下游产业价值超过千亿元——“设计之都”内外兼修、名副其实。
 
“设计之都”呼唤设计教育。深圳是粤港澳大湾区里的四大核心引擎之一,如果说“深圳设计“为”深圳奇迹“提供了源源不断的创造力,那么设计教育将是“深圳设计”力量可持续发展、持久强劲的重要源动力。

 

大湾区时代,深圳增强核心引擎功能,设计可助一臂之力;构建开放新区域协同创新共同体,设计可先行一步。先行先试,可自设计教育开始。根据粤港澳大湾区高等教育示范区建设规划,至 2035 年,深圳将建成若干所世界一流水平高校,产出一批将对世界科技和人类文明进步有重要 影响的教育成果。在这个美好的愿景中,设计教育应当占据重要的分量,毕竟“万物之理在心上”,而教育是百年修心大计。“心”修好了,“物” 才能开出恒久持续的文明之花。

  

文 / 林清池、孙奇杰