Design & Living

CHANGING THE WORLD: STARTING FROM BEING DOWN-TO-EARTH

t专题FEATURE

In recent years, a series of challenges such as environmental pollution and climate change have made people increasingly aware of how important and imperative it is to live a "sustainable" lifestyle. A variety of design researches, theories and practices have developed around "sustainability". However, when taking a closer look at life, we will find that tackling these problems might not have to be complex; it may even be simple. Many inspirations and solutions directly stem from our daily lives.

 
In Shenzhen, there is such a group of designers who strive to promote and practice sustainable values in their respective fields. With influence radiating from the city to the other side of the earth, from bustling city streets to remote African villages, they let us feel the vibrant energy and immense strength of “Shenzhen Design”.

 

图片Process for upcycling ©️REEMIXSTUDIO
 
REEMIXSTUDIO: From Street to Fashion
 
The Pearl River Delta is the place where China’s earliest foreign trade foundries were concentrated. Back then, all kinds of woven PP bags were used in both factories and daily life so widely that they became inextricably intertwined in the memory of a generation. In recent years, the element of woven PP bags started to win the favor of international fashion brands. Overnight, the creatively-redesigned PP bags became sought after by fashion icons all over the world. Influenced by the trend, Chinese people have also begun to re-appreciate this old item, which used to be regarded as a symbol of rusticity.
 
Azu and Lin Jia grew up on streets which bustled with activity. The energetic and vibrant daily elements and the experience of wandering along the high streets and back lanes have brought them unique inspirations for their design. In 2015, while taking a stroll around Maozi Village, Azu found some interesting patterns on the woven bags that were often discarded on the streets after only being used once or twice. This inspired them to create something new, using these woven bags as the raw materials.
 
图片Various woven bags become raw materials after processed ©️REEMIXSTUDIO
 
“Many woven PP bags, designed to contain cement, sand and stone, are quite solid and wear-resistant. So, we wanted to extend their life cycle through design, and also make this material more interesting.” With this idea in mind, Azu and Lin Jia set out to research the materials. There are many types of woven PP bags, which are made of varying materials and structures. Those, although good-looking, turn out to be fragile. So, they need additional processing to increase their durability. After scouring many cases available at home and abroad, Azu and Lin Jia realized that little work had been done in this area across China. So, the two of them had to rely on themselves and feel their way as they went. Owing to their responsible attitude towards customers, it was not until 2017 that the two designers officially unveiled their brand: "REEMIXSTUDIO".
 
图片
Popular items ©️REEMIXSTUDIO
 
Interesting stitched patterns in vibrant colors are the defining feature of REEMIXSTUDIO. Through creative splicing and tailoring, patterns such as “ducks” or Chinese words like “ 石化 ”(literally meaning “petrified”) appear ontheir bags. This design style represents the brand’s attempt to reveal a touch of unruliness and humor in its everyday elements. From the brand founders’ point-of-view, their products need to be made of durable and good-looking materials. Such a combination is rarely seen in ordinary industrial and agricultural woven PP bags. For this reason, it took the team a long time to screen tons of materials during the early design stage. “To find the patterns needed by our design, we traveled to many factories and shopping malls all over the country, and scoured piles of woven PP bags for the ones we wanted.” Now, the team has attained a relatively stable source of material supply in the Pearl River Delta. The local availability of raw materials thus enables the brand to further cut down on its costs.
 
The production of bags also gives full expression to the brand’s emphasis on humanistic care. REEMIXSTUDIO has stayed away from assembly line production since its foundation. Each of its products is hand-made by seasoned craftsmen with more than two decades of experience, most of whom come from the nearby urban villages.
 
Back in the 1980s and 1990s, these craftsmen produced samples for export orders at the foreign trade factories. Through this process, they not only accumulated an abundance of working experience, but also gained a certain level of aesthetic taste and design skills. In cooperation with REEMIXSTUDIO, they are paid on a piecework basis, thus becoming the beneficiary of fair trade. So far, two of these veteran craftsmen have joined the REEMIXSTUDIO team as full-time employees, developing new products together with young designers.

 

图片Experienced worker ©️REEMIXSTUDIO
 
Some of their customers put it jokingly that REEMIXSTUDIO is an affordable alternative to the Swiss eco-friendly street fashion brand “Freitag”. The latter uses truck tarpaulins as raw materials to make products which usually cost thousands of yuan. Despite the exorbitant prices, the brand has still become a darling of many hipsters and sports enthusiasts. “We don’t mind being called that,” Azu replied calmly. “For one thing, our prices are indeed more affordable, because we hope more people can access and experience our products and concepts. For another thing, our brand, with more energy and fun in its DNA, has a stronger connection with the local community. It is these two points that distinguishes us from Freitag.”

  

图片
©️REEMIXSTUDIO
 
Power Solution: Solar Power as A Solution to the BOP
 
Li Xia paid a visit to India in 2004 when she was in the process of founding her own trading company. She never expected that the trip would become a turning point for herself and her career. The tough living conditions of slum dwellers in New Delhi shocked Li, and reminded her of her early life in the countryside of China. In 2009, Li decided to make a U-turn, by transforming her business from a traditional foreign trade company into a social innovation-based enterprise, which is committed to equipping people at the bottom of the pyramid (BOP) with practical, durable and affordable solar energy products.
 
Candles Killer: Lighting Life
In cities, water, electricity, coal, and the Internet have become so easily assessable that urban dwellers often take these things for granted. Beyond the imagination of most people like us, “lighting” remains a luxury out of reach for around 11% of the world’s population. According to the statistics, there are 840 million people still living in extreme poverty worldwide. Having neither electricity nor any lighting facilities, most of them rely on candles and oil lamps for lighting. According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), 5.3 million people across the world lose their lives due to fires and respiratory infections caused by burning kerosene lamps every year.
 
图片The omnipresent solar energy provides access to electricity in remote areas ©️Power-Solution
 
After conducting field surveys and demand inspections in many poor countries and regions, Li Xia’s team developed their first solar energy product called “Candles Killer”. The product simply consists of a screw, an LED bulb, a lampshade, a stand, and a nail-sized solar panel. With such an ultra-simple design, the product easily works as well as a traditional solar lamp, yet at a greatly reduced material cost.
 
During their extensive visits to Africa, the discarded plastic water bottles, something that could be seen everywhere (even in the poorest and remotest areas), prompted Li’s team to think about whether it was possible to incorporate the ubiquitous item into their design framework. After rounds of optimization, the stand of the lamp was designed into an arc-shaped hook, which made it possible to be attached to a drinking water bottle. In the blink of an eye, the originally-simple bulb turned into a reading lamp! Li’s creative ideas managed to simplify the solar lamp design to the maximum, and also reduce the costs from the international transportation. Since its debut in 2016, Candles Killer has found its way to the no-electricity areas of 63 countries and regions around the world, benefiting over 4.4 million impoverished households.

 

“When designing products for BOP population, we tend to pursue another way of thinking which differs from designs for ordinary consumers. All of the designs made for BOP groups follow the principle of ‘Practicability, Durability, and Cost-efficiency’, so as to maximize the utility of each component used there,” Li Xia said. “Taking into account the harsh living conditions in the poor areas, we also conduct a variety of extreme tests on our products under different temperatures, humidity degrees, pressures, and transportation statuses, in an effort to make sure they can still work normally when finally delivered to the customer.”

 
Inspired and led by Li Xia, her team has overcome numerous difficulties to pay return visits to the remote areas of Africa every year. These trips have given them deeper understanding and empathy of BOP’s living situation. In addition to the access to the Internet and electricity, most of them also do not have the chance to receive education. They may have little basic health knowledge that is vital to their survival. “I hope what we provide for them is not just a lighting device,” Li Xia noted. “In my view, our product is something that users can count on to learn about what the outside world looks like, and then find a way to change their lives.” So, while helping them solve their immediate energy problems, the team’s follow-up product R&D prioritizes increasing education accessibility and disseminating knowledge, with a view to empowering local people to sustain themselves continuously.

 

Kids and their "new toy"©️Power-Solution
 
Solar Media: Lighting Brain
Solar Media, the latest product developed by Li Xia and her team, features a sustainable design that takes into account products, contents, services and social relations together.The product consists of a solar panel, a display, and three sets of energy-saving LED lamps. The video player itself can also be used as a mobile charger that powers light bulbs and small electronic devices. More importantly, the player also comes with teaching videos in many fields of science and technology, health, agriculture, and so forth. In addition to meeting poor people’s imperative needs for lighting, such aningenious design is well positioned to empower the impoverished population and improve their productivity andaccess to education. This is especially important at a time when the COVID-19 pandemic is sweeping the world.
 
Solar Media is expected to bring much-needed pandemic prevention knowledge to the poor communities with little access to public health services, raise the hygiene awareness of local people, and hence reduce the cases of diseases to some extent. Another important feature of the product is that it supports updates. All kinds of materials – including basic education courses, manual skills, and agricultural knowledge – can be imported into it anytime anywhere, thus enhancing the education level ofthe poor population. With these design ideas, Li Xia and her team hope to teach people ways to sustain and empower themselves.
 
Each packaging box can be recycled. Simply disassembled and refolded, the packing materials will become a set of make shift wardrobes, drawers, and hangers. “We hope low-income people can spend every penny where it counts,” Li Xia insisted. “Therefore, one of our design ambitions is to maximize the value of every component used in our products.” The packaging boxes are made of durable materials, so that consumers in remote areas can use them to store dishes, food or clothes. As the team envisions, this packaging solution will help local people improve their living conditions and lead a more decent life without incurring any extra cost.
 

 

图片
图片
New packaging for Solar Media ©️TigerPan Lab

 

In addition, the team has taken another step by considering how their products can bring poor people more skills or jobs, and continue creating an enabling environment for their communities. Unlike most consumer electronics that prefer the integrated, all-in-one design, Candle Killer and Solar Media are designed to make sure every single component is dismountable, maintainable, and replaceable. This design thinking, while reducing resource waste, can also extend the product life cycle to the maximum extent. Besides, Power-Solution (Li Xia’s company) has been planning to set up repair and recycling service stations in the places where their products are sold. Through the “Barefoot Engineer Training Program”, it intends to team up with local governments and schools to train some young natives as after-sales service personnel, so that they can provide their community with equipment maintenance and content update services, thus creating more job opportunities for these places.

 
“Many under-developed regions have missed out on both the Industrial Revolution and the Internet Revolution, two important periods in human history. However, it doesn’t mean that they have to follow the exact same path as we did. Instead, we hope that our products can give them access to affordable clean energy directly,” Li Xia added. “We are now building a terminal database to calculate carbon emissions. In the future, we also plan to dabble in the international carbon trading market. The resulting proceeds will be used to further reduce costs, give back to our users, and help more BOP people use clean energy products.”
 
By virtue of its insights into the BOP markets and its innovative business models and products, Power-Solution has endeared itself to major international organizations and NGOs, including the United Nations Development Program (UNDP). Certified by the World Bank Group’s “Lighting Global” program, the Shenzhen-based enterprise has managed to step onto the world arena and cast a global influence. 

 

图片
©️Power-Solution
 
In essence, “sustainable design” represents a way of thinking. For designers, it means to take a broader perspective. In addition to the most basic appearance and functionality of a product, they also need to consider how this productwill influence the upstream and downstream parts of the industry throughout its life cycle. Apart from human beings, other forms of life on the earth and the entire ecology should be taken into account as well.

 

Besides, sustainable design awakens us to the fact that economic and social benefits, economic development and environmental protection, are things that can be attained simultaneously. Thus, to some extent, it helps us shake off the dualistic thinking pattern and take a more integrated, inclusive perspective in the search for solutions. With design added as oars to propel the boat of business, brands like REEMIXSTUDIO and Power-Solution are setting examples as sustainable and profitable brand, while helping solve social and environmental problems and bring positive changes to the world. 
 
 
Text / Wu Jialu

设计 & 生活

改变世界,从“接地气”开始

t专题FEATURE

近年来,环境污染、气候变化等一系列问题让人们越发认识到“可持续”生活方式的重要性和紧迫性,各种围绕“可持续”的理论、研究、设计概念也层出不穷。事实上,当我们重新审视生活和周围的环境,会发现很多时候解决问题的思路并不复杂,甚至可以说都朴素,许多解决问题的灵感与方案,就来源于我们日常生活的一点一滴。

 

在深圳本土,就有这样一群人在各自的领域通过设计来推广、践行“可持续”的价值理念;他们的影响力也从深圳本土辐射到地球的另一端,从都市繁华街头到非洲偏远乡村,让我们感受到“深圳设计”蓬勃生猛的力量。

 

图片

“脏包”制作流程 ©️在地拾用

 

从脏袋到潮包——“拾荒而用” 的街头潮牌

珠三角作为早期外贸代工厂聚集地,五花八门的编织袋从工厂渗透到生活,交织在一代人的记忆中。近年来,编织袋元素被国际大牌相中,摇身一变成为时尚达人争相追捧的单品,国人也开始重新审视这一老物件。 

作为土生土长的“深二代”,阿祖和林嘉成长于极具烟火气息的市井街头,生鲜活泼的日常元素和在街头巷尾的游走经历,为他们孕育了独特的创作灵感。2015年,一次在茂仔村的闲逛中,阿祖发现一些经常用过一两次就被扔弃的编织袋有着非常有趣的图案,于是萌生想法,用编织袋为原材料创造一些东西。

 

图片五花八门的编织袋在处理干净后成为面料 ©️在地拾用

 

“许多编织袋本身是用来装水泥、沙石的,很结实耐磨,我们想要通过设计去延续它们的使用周期,也让这种材料呈现出更好玩的一面。”有了这个想法之后,阿祖和林嘉着手开始进行材料研究。编织袋有许多种类型,材质构造各不同,有的好看但不耐用,就需要处理成更耐用的面料。在这方面,阿祖和林嘉搜罗了国际国内诸多案例,发现几乎没什么可以供借鉴,两人只能靠自己一点点摸索,本着对顾客负责的态度,直到2017年才正式推出了“在地拾用”这一品牌。 

 

图片
挎包和骑行包是颇受欢迎的两种款式©️在地拾用
 
有趣的图案拼接和跳跃的色彩,是“在地拾用”的一大特色。通过创意拼接和剪裁,在包包上呈现出诸如鸭子的图案或“石化”字眼,于日常元素中透露出一丝不羁和幽默。既要材料结实耐用,又要图案好看,这样的组合在普通工农业编织袋里并不多见,为此,团队需要花费大量时间进行前期的材料筛选。“为了找合适的图案,我们会跑遍全国各地的工厂、商场,在成堆的编织袋里一只只打开来看。”现在,团队在珠三角有了相对稳定的供货渠道,原材料的在地性帮助品牌更好地节省成本。

 

“脏包”的制作也透露出品牌的人文关怀。“在地拾用”一直坚持非流水线生产,每一个产品都是由拥有 20 多年经验的老师傅进行手工生产制作,这些老手艺人大都是城中村的叔叔阿姨。20世纪八九十年代,在“三来一补”政策下的外贸厂里,他们为出口订单进行打样工作,积累了丰富的经验,也具备一定的审美和设计能力;按件计费的合作模式,也让他们获得了公平贸易的手工报酬。目前,有两名老手工艺人被吸纳进了“在地拾用”团队,成为工作室的全职员工,与年轻设计师们一起进行产品的研发。

  工人师傅在工作室打版 ©️在地拾用

 

有粉丝戏谑说“在地拾用”是瑞士环保街头潮牌 Freitag 的平价替代,后者采用卡车篷布为原材料,单品价格动辄上千,但依然受到诸多街头潮人和运动爱好者的追捧。“我们并不介意被这么叫,”聊起这个, 阿祖的心态很是平和,“一方面我们在价格上确实更亲民,因为想让更多人都能使用和接触到我们的产品及理念;另一方面,我们的品牌调性更活泼有趣,也和本土社群产生更强的联结,这是我们和 Freitag 有着鲜明区别的地方。”

 

图片买家秀©️在地拾用

 

向太阳“盗火”,点亮底层生活

在 2004 年创办自己的贸易公司时,李霞没有想到一次印度之旅会成为她的转折点。新德里贫民窟的生存状况,触发了她早年农村生活的回忆,在 2009 年,李霞决定转变事业发展方向,将公司从传统外贸转型成为一家社会创新企业,致力于为金字塔底层人群 (BOP, Bottom of Pyramid) 提供耐用且负担得起的太阳能产品。

 

消灭蜡烛,太阳能源作火种

对于生活在都市中的人来说,水、电、煤、网络这“四大金刚”已经是理所应当的生活必备条件。我们中的大多数人可能无法想象,在这个世界上有约 11% 的人口,“照明”对于他们依然是一种奢侈。据统计,世界上仍有 8.4 亿人生活在极端贫困中,缺乏电力与网络,没有任何照明设施,他们中的大多数依然靠蜡烛与煤油灯照明。另据世界卫生组织 (WHO) 数据显示,全球每年有 530 万人因煤油灯燃烧造成的火灾和呼吸道感染疾病而失去生命。

 

图片太阳能无处不在,为偏远地区供电提供了便捷©️诚信诺

 

在对多个贫困国家进行实地调研和需求考察后,李霞团队研发出了他们的第一款太阳能产品“蜡烛消灭者”(Candles Killer)。“蜡烛消灭者”仅通过一颗螺丝、 一个灯珠、一个灯罩、一个支架和一块指甲大小的电池板的极简设计,就达到了传统太阳能灯的效果,大大减少了材料成本。在考察途中李霞还发现,即便在穷乡僻壤,塑料水瓶随处可见,这促使团队开始思考,是不是可以把这些被丢弃的“垃圾”纳入到自己的设计框架中。在反复优化后,太阳能灯外形采用了弧形挂钩设计,巧妙借用废弃水瓶作为支架,摇身一变成为台灯,最大化精简了太阳能灯本身的设计,也降低了国际运输成本。2016 年推出至今,“蜡烛消灭者” 已经遍布全世界 63 个国家的无电地区,帮助了440 多万户贫困家庭。

 

“相比于为大众消费者设计,为 BOP 群体设计需要采取另一种思路,我们所有的设计都围绕‘实用、耐用、低成本’三个原则展开,让每一个零部件最大化发挥它的使用价值。”李霞表示,“另外考虑到贫困地区的恶劣条件,我们会在不同温度、湿度、压力、运输的极端状态下,对产品进行各种测试,确保运送到用户手中时依然能正常使用。”

  

每一年,李霞都会亲自带领团队,翻山越岭去往非洲偏远地区进行回访,对于 BOP 人群的生存状况也有了更细致入微的体察。除了无网无电,大多数 BOP人群也缺乏接受教育的机会和意识,甚至缺乏与生存相关的基础卫生常识。“我希望提供给他们的不仅仅是一个照明设备,”李霞表示,“我希望我们的产品能够提供给他们接触外界讯息、甚至改变人生的一种可能。” 因而在进行后续产品研发时,除了考虑解决直观的能源问题,团队还着眼于通过产品传播教育知识,持续为当地人赋能。

 

图片

孩子们和他们的“新玩具”©️诚信诺

 

点亮头脑,让光传播到更远

李霞团队最新研发的“太阳能媒体(Solar Media)“就是一款兼顾了产品、内容、服务和社会关系可持续性的设计。“太阳能媒体本身包括一块太阳能电板、一块屏幕和三套节能电灯,视频播放器本身也可作为移动充电器,用于灯泡照明、小型电子设备充电,播放器内置科技、卫生、农业等各种教学视频,在解决照明这一燃眉之急的同时也能为贫困人口赋能,提升他们的生产力与教育文化水平。尤其在新冠病毒全球肆虐的当下,这款产品将为缺少公共卫生服务的贫困社区带去宝贵的防疫知识,提高当地人的卫生意识,减少疾病发生。同时,还可以更新存入各类基础教育知识、手工技能、农业知识,提高当地人群的教育水平,授人以渔,赋予他们可持续发展的能力。

 

用来包装的盒子本身也可以循环再利用,通过简单的拆卸与折叠,包装盒摇身一变成为一组简单的衣柜、抽屉和衣架。李霞说,“我们要让低收入人群的每一分钱都花在刀刃上,因此在产品设计中会尽量让每一个部件都发挥最大价值。”包装选取了耐用性高的材料,偏远地区人们可以用它来存放碗碟、食物或衣物,团队希望这套包装可以让当地人不用多花一分钱的同时,既改善生活条件,又提升作为人的尊严和体面。

 

“太阳能媒体”全新产品包装 ©️潘虎包装设计室

 

除此之外,团队还进一步考虑如何通过产品的生产,为当地人带去更多技能和就业岗位,持续为社群赋能。与大多数消费电子产品流行的集成式、一体化设计不同,“蜡烛消灭者”以及“太阳能媒体”的每一个部件都是可拆卸、可维修、可替换的,在减少资源浪费的同时,也能最大程度地延长产品使用周期。诚信诺科技已经计划在终端所在地建立维修和回收点,并通过“赤脚 工程师计划”联合本地政府和学校培养年轻人成为售后服务人员,让他们为社区居民提供设备维修和内容更新服务,也为当地创造更多就业机会。

 

“许多欠发达地区在历史进程中错过了工业革命和互联网革命的契机,但并不代表他们需要一步步重蹈我们走过的道路。我们希望通过我们的产品,让欠发达地区一步到位用上可负担得起的清洁能源产品。” 李霞进一步透露,“我们现在正在建立终端数据库,计算碳排放量,未来我们还希望通过国际碳交易,将所得收益用来进一步压低成本,反哺用户,让更多人用上清洁能源产品。”

 

凭借着对“底层市场”的洞察,以及对商业模式和产品的不断创新,诚信诺科技倍受包括联合国开发计划署在内的各大国际组织和NGO的青睐,还获得了世界银行“点亮全球”(Lighting Globe)项目的认证,成为一家“走上世界舞台”、具有国际社会影响力的的深圳企业。

 

图片

©️诚信诺

 

“可持续设计”作为一种思维,对设计者们来说,意味着除了考虑产品最基本的美观和功能之外,更要思考这件产品在其整个生命周期中对上下游所产生的影响;不仅要考虑人类,还要考虑地球上的其他生命以及整个生态环境,拥有更宏大的视野。

 

另一方面,“可持续设计”让我们看到经济效益与社会效益、经济发展与环境保护是可以二者兼得的,它在某种程度上帮助我们消除二元对立的思维,采用一种更融合、全息的视角去寻找解决问题的方式:以设计为桨,以商业为舟,在解决社会及环境问题、为世界带来积极改变的同时,企业和品牌本身也能自我造血、持续成长。

 

 

文 / 吴佳潞