Focus

SHENZHEN BUS GOES ALL-ELECTRIC IN SUPPORT OF ‘SHENZHEN BLUE’

A PIONEER IN GREEN PATHS BY SHENZHEN BUS GROUP

t聚焦FOCUS

Lianhuashan electric bus charging station Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

Lianhuashan electric bus charging station Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

 “Innovation, Change and Pioneering” has been encoded in the “gene” of the city. Shenzhen is the first city in the world to go all-electric on buses, as its last bus that operated on fossil fuel was retired in 2017. Two years later in 2019, Shenzhen’s taxis reached a pure electric vehicle (PEV) coverage rate of 99.06%. By 2030, it is anticipated that the city will realize 100% electric transport. Shenzhen has been among the world leaders in promoting the use of electric cars.

 

Shenzhen Bus Group (or Shenzhen Bus), as a benchmark of Shenzhen’s public transport system, is a representative of innovation and change. 

 

Explore A New Path of Development to Become the World’s Largest PEV Operator

 

Shenzhen Bus has operated for forty-five years since its foundation in 1975. The Company has grown, over the years, alongside the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone (SEZ). It is fair to say that the history of Shenzhen Bus is epitomized with the city’s history of innovation-driven development.

 

Shenzhen SEZ offers an innovation-friendly environment that enables businesses to thrive via continued innovation. In terms of ticketing, Shenzhen Bus is the first “crab eater” in the city to trial self-service ticketing, launch IC cards, and implement multiple payment methods, including mobile phones and facial recognition. Additionally, the company has also made innovations in bus line operation, including partnering with ride-sharing businesses, offering tailored buslines and one-seat, point-to-point bus services.

 

Shenzhen Bus is also an industry leader in new-energy vehicle operation. In support of the “Shenzhen Blue” sustainability action plan, Shenzhen Bus went all-electric on its 5,698 buses in 2017, and again on 4,681 taxis in 2018. According to the 2019 Social Responsibility Report of Shenzhen Bus, with all-electric buses and taxis, the Company saved approximately 0.2 million tons of standard coal and cut 0.57 million tons of carbon dioxide emissions as well as 23.09 million tons of other air pollutants in total.

 

Zero-contact e-payment Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

All-electric Actions Go a Long Way

 

Shenzhen Bus started to explore green programs in 2009 when Shenzhen was enlisted in the first batch of “Ten Cities, Thousand Vehicles” cities. As a pioneer in going electric, how did Shenzhen Bus find its path without any prior electric bus application cases to refer to?

 

In 2011, the 26th FISU World University Games were hosted by the city of Shenzhen. Taking that opportunity, Shenzhen Bus planned to release 101 PEV coaches and 24 PEV mini-sized buses.

 

It was a time when PEV buses were still new to the world. As a responsible busoperator, Shenzhen Bus worked closely with bus makers to test and enhance the PEV models in 2010. Two trial buses were tested on Line 202 for the purpose of dynamic testing, including months-long vacant operation. Then came the loaded testing, and at year-end, testing with passengers as short-turn buses. “After the dynamic testing, we issued about 400 recommendations for improvement and optimization,” according to Deputy General Manager of Shenzhen Bus Lai Dingqi. “In this process, support from the government played a key role. Without an official license, trial buses were not allowed on the road or to carry passengers. However, without dynamic testing, many issues wouldn’t be identified, for example, the braking issue. Will passengers feel uncomfortable when the bus brakes? It was fortunate that the SEZ government approved us for these trials.”

 

For Shenzhen, now an operator of more than 6,000 PEV buses, 125 PEV buses may not seem like a significant number. But back then, the launch of 125 PEV buses was a milestone leading up to a new chapter of Shenzhen Bus, triggering changes to break and re-establish the existing models in all aspects of the business.

 

图片Charging piles at Lianhuashan Station Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

 

First, changes in the operational mode. Recharging PEV buses is more time-consuming than conventional buses. Shenzhen Bus faced the immediate task of figuring out how to organizeand operate PEV buses at the highest efficiency possible. Second, changes in bus station management. Conventional buses can refuel at gas stations, while PEV buses require charging points, so charging stations needed to be constructed. Third, changes in vehicle models. PEV models that suit the needs of long/short bus lines and busy/non- busy bus lines differ, so proper bus arrangement and scheduling should be figured out. Fourth, changes in bus maintenance and staffing. In view of PEV buses, maintenance staff should have electric maintenance know-how, in addition to the mechanics. With these changes in operation and station management, staff shifts, accommodation, and other elements in staff management needed to change as well. Fifth, changes in corporate management. Due to operational changes, the Group’s management system and compensation system have also  undergone changes.

 

“Looking back, going all-electric was a challenge for us, and also an opportunity. Through this early-bird experience, we have accumulated significant know-how to set up an operational system for PEV buses,” said Lai Dingqi. “To give you a direct case, the rate of operational efficiencies between a fossil-fuel bus and a PEV bus was 1:1:36 in the early days, but now it is 1:1.”

 

图片

Charging pipelines at Lianhuashan Station. Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

Innovative Cost-saving Controls Won a National Award 

With higher operational efficiency, how about cost controls? 

 

According to the available information, under the city’s electricity pricing structure, the valley-period price is under 0.3 yuan/kWh, the peak-period price close to 1.1 yuan/kWh, and the off-peak-period price approximately 0.7 yuan/kWh. From this structure, the peak-period price and the valley-period price is a gap of three times. The cost of recharging buses during peak-periods is several times higher than otherwise. As a result, in the electric transiting period, we proposed a charging arrangement excluding peak-periods, where buses are fully charged overnight and recharged during off-peak-periods in the daytime, in order to meet operational needs. As the valley-period price is lower than gasoline, for 6,000 buses in total, the fuel/charge cost is one-third of that from the days before going all-electric.

 

What’s worth noting is that getting all buses fully charged overnight is not an easy task. The early charging point was each equipped with one or two guns. To charge 6,000 buses, in theory, they either needed large-enough charging stations with a lot of charging points, or significant staff resources to move the vehicles around. Both options were clearly not ideal.

 

图片Charging piles at Lianhuashan Station Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

 

To address this challenge, Shenzhen Bus invented a “Network-style Speedy Charging Mode” that enables a charging network by equipping each charging point with multiple charging guns. Also, a smart control system takes care of charging scheduling and rates from the back-end. This has facilitated maximum charging during valley periods, and on the other hand, saved Shenzhen Bus a hundred million yuan on charging point/station construction costs. This mode has won Shenzhen Bus a national patent and the second prize in the 2016 National Transport Companies Innovation Achievements.

 

Shenzhen Bus fully utilizes batteries from ex-service buses by charging them at night and using them on in-service buses when needing a recharge in thedaytime. This way, costs are further reduced, as the valley-period electricity price is applicable to the daytime recharging. In view of the city’s natural resources, the Company also trialed PV charging by converting the roof of some stations into solar panels to fuel buses. Multiple cost-saving measures have helped Shenzhen Bus save costs significantly, where the charging cost alone was down by approximately 50 million yuan in 2019 over 2018.

 

Explore New Technologies and Applications, and Expand Global Sharing

 

In parallel to going all-electric, Shenzhen Bus smartened up its whole operational system. It established a smart management center with smart scheduling, safety control and hotspot analysis functions. Under normal circumstances, buses are released every five minutes. However, during rush hours, when driving speed is slowed down due to congestion, the smart management center automatically gives longer headway to ensure buses arrive at stations at proper intervals.


In this case, it prevents a scenario where more than one bus arrives in five minutes, but no other bus is available for the next half an hour. Based on the smart maintenance function, the system monitors how long and how far each bus has travelled, and notifies staff when maintenance is needed or which parts need calibration. “Smart management has been planned and implemented right after the ‘go all-electric’ strategy went into effect. When the system was designed, the goal was to stay ahead of the industry by five years.”

 

When making the next five-year plan, Shenzhen Bus will stay committed to the all-electric initiative and continue to explore new technologies and applications. In 2020, a new bus green- wave signal line was released. Buses with a cooperative system and an assisted driving system can be aligned with traffic light scheduling, so that the green light/red light can be properly adjusted for buses. Shenzhen Bus has launched joint research projects on automated-driving buses with tech companies and bus makers. As of now, testing rounds for automated-driving buses have been conducted on the open roads of the Futian Bonded Area.

 

图片Smart Management Center©️Shenzhen Bus Group

 

As a key member of the International Association of Public Transport (UITP), Shenzhen Bus has been highly active in promoting PEV operation and solutions to the world, in cooperation with the World Bank, United Nations, European Union and other international organizations. It will further enhance exchanges with global counterparts, including UK companies on low-carbon transport. The green bus brand of Shenzhen Bus has been highly recognized in the industry globally.

 

“Sometimes, we communicate with peers from other regions, and some might say Shenzhen does a great job promoting PEV, thanks to government fiscal funding support. Abundant funding is indeed a factor in driving the PEV use, but I don’t think it is the decisive factor,” said Lai Dingqi. “In the PEV transit, we can rely on fiscal funding for some time, but over a longer period, operational issues cannot be solved by funding only. I am most thankful for the supportive policy environment by the government to encourage business innovation.”

 

图片

OCT East Station Photo: Meng Xiangyuan

 
Shenzhen Bus has stayed committed to innovation and sustainable development, including PEV trial bus testing, charging management/station construction, and smart operation and management of buses. Based on continued innovation efforts, the Group has, step-by-step, resolved some issues that no one else had encountered before. It is now an industrial model and a global benchmark. And this has been replenished with the achievements of the city of Shenzhen.

 

 

Source / China Automotive News, Shenzhen Bus Group

Editing /City of Desisgn Shenzhen

聚焦

全面电动化,助力“深圳蓝”

深圳巴士集团的绿色先行之路

t聚焦FOCUS

莲花山巴士充电站 摄影:孟祥远

莲花山巴士充电站 摄影:孟祥远

一直以来,“创新求变、敢为人先”的精神就编码在这座城市的基因里。2017 年,随着最后一辆燃油巴士退役,深圳成为世界上首个实现 100% 公交车电动化的大城市;2019 年,出租车纯电动化达到 99.06%;预计在 2030 年,将实现物流车电动化。在推进汽车电动化上,深圳一 直走在世界前列。

 

作为深圳公共交通运输体系的标杆企业, 深圳巴士集团是创新谋变的典型代表。

 

探索发展新路径,成为全球最大纯电动汽车运营企业

 

自 1975 年创建以来,深圳巴士集团已成立了45 年,伴随着特区的建设而成长壮大,可以说,深圳巴士集团的发展史是深圳创新发展的一个缩影。

 

特区有支持创新的环境、鼓励创新的氛围,作为其中的一份子,企业要发展也必须适应潮流,不断创新。例如在乘车付费手段方面,深圳巴士集团从深圳第一家尝试无人售票到推广 IC 卡刷卡乘车,再到现在的手机、刷脸等多种支付方式并行;公交线路运营与网约车平台企业合作,开通定制巴士,提供一人一座点对点的出行服务等,都是不断创新的结果。

 

尤其是在新能源车辆运营方面,深圳巴士集团可谓行业先锋。为配合“深圳蓝”可持续行动计划,深圳巴士集团在 2017 年实现了旗下 5698 辆公交车 100% 电动化,2018 年又实现了旗下 4681 辆出租车 100% 电动化。根据估算,完成全面电动化后,深圳巴士集团旗下 4681 台纯电动出租车,每年可节省汽油约 5 万吨,减少二氧化碳排放 15 万吨,相当于多种植 8 万棵树。目前,深圳巴士集团已成为全球最大的新能源汽车运营企业,拥有超过 1 万辆纯电动汽车。

 

图片无接触电子支付 摄影:孟祥远

 

全面电动化先行,实现“破茧” 巨变

 

深圳巴士集团的新能源探索是从 2009 年开始的。那一年,深圳成为“十城千辆” 的首批城市之一。身为行业先行者,即意味着在应用新能源公交车方面并无前人的经验可以借鉴,深圳巴士集团是如何一步步探索未知走到今天的?

 

2011 年,“第 26 届世界大学生夏季运动会”(以下简称“大运会”)在深圳举办。借此契机,深圳巴士集团要在 2011 年投放运营 101 台大巴和 24 台中巴纯电动公交车。

 

那时,纯电动公交车还是一个新事物,本着对乘客负责的精神,2010 年,深圳巴士集团就与客车企业合作,测试并完善纯电动车型。当时有 2 辆试制车在巴士集团 202 线路上进行动态测试,先是空车运行,几个月后加载负荷测试,年底又以区间车的形式开展载客试验。“动态测试结束后,我们提了将近 400 条改进、优化的意见。” 深圳巴士新能源有限公司副总经理赖定 启说,“在这个过程中,政府的支持非常重要。因为试制车没有正式牌照,不可以上路和载客,但如果不做动态测试,很多问题是无法发现的,比如踩油门、踩刹车的时候,车辆的反应是否会让乘客不舒服?幸运的是,特区政府许可我们尝试。”

 

对于现在运营着 6000 多辆纯电动公交车的深圳巴士集团来说,125 辆纯电动公交车似乎并不是一个大数目,但在当时,伴随着这 125 辆纯电动公交车投运,打开了电动化的大门,给集团带来从内而外的巨大变化,各个方面原有的模式都被打破、重新调整。

 

莲花山车站充电桩 摄影:孟祥远

 

第一,是运营模式的变化。纯电动公交车充电的时间比燃油车加油的时间长,需要摸索怎样组织运营,才能让纯电动公交车达到最高的效率。第二,是场站管理的变化。以往燃油车在加油站加油就可以了,而纯电动车需要充电桩,集团面临建设充电场站的问题。第三,车辆型号结构的变化。长线、短线、客流量大的线、客流量少的线,所适合的纯电动车型是不同的,这也需要逐步摸索。第四,后勤方面,车辆维护及人员安置的变化。车辆维修人员不仅要会机械维保,还要掌握机电维保的知识,同时,由于车辆的运营方式、场站的管理方式都变了,那么人员的排班方式、食宿安排等也都要跟着改变。第五,集团管理方式的变化。由于企业日常的经营需求都发生了变化,企业的管理制度、人员的薪资制度等也都发生了变化。

 

“回过头看,全面电动化对我们来说是一个挑战,同时也是一个机遇。通过先行先试,我们积累了丰富的经验,构建出一套纯电动汽车的运营体系。”赖定启说,“举一个直观的例子,燃油车与电动车的运营效率比,早期是 1:1.36,现在我们已经做 到了 1:1。” 

 

图片
莲花山车站充电桩 摄影:孟祥远
 
创新节省成本,获得国家级奖项
 
纯电动公交车的运营效率提上来了,它的成本又该如何控制?

 

据介绍,深圳的谷期电价不到 0.3 元,平期电价接近 0.7 元,峰期电价将近 1.1 元。谷期与峰期电价相差三倍多,如果在峰期给车辆充电,仅燃料成本就会成倍增长,所以在电动化转型的时候,就考虑通过夜间一次全充满电、平期短时间补电、峰期不充电的方式来满足车辆运营的需要。由于谷期电价比油价便宜,仅看燃料成本,集团完成全面电动化后,6000 辆公交车的 燃料成本是原先采用燃油车时的三分之一。

 

值得一提的是,要想做到夜间一次给所有公交车全充满电并不是一件容易的事。最初的充电桩是一桩一枪或两枪,而深圳巴士集团的 6000 辆车如果要一晚上全部充满电,理论上需要面积庞大的充电场站及数量众多的充电桩,加上需要很多工作人员一整晚不停地挪车,这些方案显然都不现实。怎么办?

 

莲花山车站充电桩 摄影:孟祥远

 

深圳巴士集团迎难而上,发明了“网式快捷充电模式”,让每一个充电桩上分出多个充电枪,从而构成一张充电网。同时,智能控制系统可在后台操控由哪些枪充电及充电强度的大小等。通过这项创新发明,一方面实现了最大化利用谷期充电,另一方面减少了充电桩 / 场站的建设成本,集团节省了上亿元的成本。此外,“网式快捷充电模式”还获得了国家专利,并获得了 2016 年的全国交通企业创新成果二等奖。

 

此外,深圳巴士集团还让退役的车载电池发挥“余热”,夜间把退役的电池充满电,白天为车辆进行补电,这样车辆白天补电实际上也用的是谷期电价,进一步节省了成本。同时,考虑到深圳的地理位置,常年阳光充足,巴士集团还尝试了光伏充电,把一些场站里的雨棚改为太阳能面板,为车辆提供能源。多管齐下节省成本,深圳巴士集团的降本效果显著,仅充电成本这部分,2019 年比 2018 年下降了近 5000 万元。

 

探索新技术新应用,走向国际分享经验

 

与全面电动化同步进行的是整个运营系统的智能化。深圳巴士集团已建立智慧管理中心,具备智能调度、安全管控、热点分析等多项功能。比如正常情况下5分钟发一趟车,而高峰时道路拥挤、车辆通行缓慢,智慧管理中心就会自动把发车间隔拉长,确保每一个时段都有车,从而避免5分钟过了一下来两三辆车,后面半个小时一辆车都没有的情况;再比如智能维保,每一辆车跑了多长时间、多少公里,后台都有数据,到时间该进行保养了,或者哪部分需要校准,后台也会及时发出提醒。据介绍,“智能管理是集团从确定全面电动化开始就在布局实施的,最初设计这个系统的时候,目标就是力求领先行业水平五年。”

 

进行下一个五年规划时,巴士集团表示将在坚定不移走电动化道路的同时,探索新技术、新应用。2020 年刚开通了一条公交绿波线路,车辆搭载车路协同系统和辅助驾驶系统,让公交车可以联动交通信号灯,当车辆行驶到路口时可以延长绿灯或缩短红灯,确保公交优先。深圳巴士集团还与科技公司、客车企业等联合研究自动驾驶巴士,目前已有自动驾驶巴士在福田保税区的开放道路上进行测试运行。

 

图片智慧管理中心 ©️深圳巴士集团

 

作为国际公共交通联会(UITP)的重要成员,深圳巴士集团还积极向全球推广纯电动公交运营经验和解决方案,并与世界银行、联合国、欧盟等国际组织机构保持着良好的合作关系;未来还将进一步与包括英国企业在内的全球同行深入交流,开展绿色低碳出行合作。深圳绿色公交品牌得到全球同行的高度认可。

 

“有时候我们和其他地区的同行交流经验,有的人会说,深圳电动化推得又好又快,是因为政府财政资金充足。资金充足确实是电动化推广快的一个因素,但如果说这是最重要的一点,我不这样认为。”赖定启坦诚地说,“电动化转型,一时靠财政扶持可以,但长期的运营会遇到各种各样的问题,这些不是只靠财政就能解决的。我最感谢的是政府给我们企业提供了良好的政策环境,鼓励企业自主创新。”

 

图片侨城东公交站 摄影:孟祥远

 

从纯电动试制车型的测试,到充电管理和场站建设的降本增效,再到车辆的智能运营和管理方式的变革,深圳巴士集团在任何一环都未曾放弃过创新和对可持续发展的探索。正是在不断创新的基础上,深圳巴士集团一步一步解决了前人没有见过的问题,成长为行业典范,树立起世界标杆。而这,正与深圳经济特区的发展相得益彰。

 

 

资料来源 / 中国汽车报、深圳巴士集团

编辑 /《设计之都深圳》编辑部